Sunday Countdown: 5 Authors Whose Books I Always Buy

Sometimes, over the course of your reading life, you come across an author who you just implicitly trust. An author you know will give you a great story with characters you love. You don’t even have to read the blurb; you just automatically hit the preorder button. Here are five of mine.

5. Robin McKinley

I read Robin McKinley when I want a quiet, lyrical tale. One where the love story builds slowly in a wonderful way that you can just sink in to and forget the real world. I haven’t read all of her books yet; I’m savoring them. Though I do read The Blue Sword at least once a year.

4. Rick Riordan

Two words: Percy. Jackson. I know this one’s a bit silly, but I am an fanatic when it comes to his series. I actually didn’t get into them until the entire Percy Jackson series was out. I had heard good things, so I bought the whole series one time and then read them all in under a week and loved every minute of it. I even enjoyed his Egyptian series (actually, I liked them a lot more than I think the general reader population does). Now I get to look forward to the rest of Heroes series and a Norse god one too. Also, I totally squealed with delight when The Mark of Athena cover was revealed and then after examining it, yelled out, “Go Percy! Kill Jason!”

3. John Green

This one is really obvious. He’s considered one of the best YA authors today and with good reason. Every book he writes can make you laugh, cry, and think about the Great Perhaps. I look forward to many more amazing stories from him. In the meantime, I’ll be over here making the Nerdfighter sign in my Pizza John t-shirt.

2. Sarah Dessen

Sarah Dessen taught me how to love, and I’m totally not ashamed to say that. I have literally fallen in love with Dexter and Wes dozens of times. She writes characters that you feel for every single time. Also…HATE SPINNERBAIT.

1. Markus Zusak

His brilliance is simply unparalleled. I am the Messenger and The Book Thief are so wonderful, so miraculous, that I all I can do is wax poetic about them all the time. His next book is Bridge of Clay and I await it patiently. Usually I go fangirl crazy about series/authors that I love. I CAN’T WAIT for the next thing to come out and I need it RIGHT THAT SECOND. But with Markus Zusak…I can wait. I can wait because I know that when it gets here, it will blow my mind.

Leave a Reply

