Book Review: The Girl Who Circumnavigated Fairyland in a Ship of Her Own Making by Catherynne M. Valente

View from the window seat:
September, a twelve-year old girl living in Omaha, is frustrated with her life. Her father is off at war and her mother works long hours at the factory. So when the Green Wind shows up at her kitchen window, she doesn’t hesitate to fly away with him on an adventure to Fairyland. Soon she finds out that Fairyland lives under the unfair rule of a Marquess, who coerces September into quest to retrieve a sword. September, along with her friends A-Through-L (a Wyverary) and Saturday (a Marid boy), must journey across Fairyland.

Words cannot express how utterly I fell in love with this book. It’s so magical, so beautiful, so stunning in its perfection that I feel the only review I can write is one where I just list the things I loved. I loved the whimsical, lyrical writing. I loved the self-aware narration, with little tongue-in-cheek asides to the reader. I loved our brave, stubborn, spirited September. I loved her newfound friends: A-Through-L, Saturday, Gleam, the Leopard, and the Green Wind. I loved the selfless sacrifice that September makes to save a stranger. I loved the moment on the Gears where a part of September’s future was revealed (I won’t spoil it, but I shivered with happiness when I read it). I loved the fantasy of it, with the strange creatures and magical setting. This book is a brilliant, perfect fairy tale.

Overall impression:
I loved, loved, LOVED The Girl Who Circumnavigated Fairyland in a Ship of Her Own Making.

Rating:
10

4 thoughts on “Book Review: The Girl Who Circumnavigated Fairyland in a Ship of Her Own Making by Catherynne M. Valente

Leave a Reply

