Top Ten Tuesday: Top Ten Books/Authors I’m Thankful For

Top Ten Tuesday is a weekly meme hosted by The Broke and the Bookish where each week we get a new topic for a top ten list. As it’s Thanksgiving this week, here are ten books/authors I’m thankful for.

1. The Harry Potter series, J.K. Rowling. Harry Potter tops my list yet again. This series was my first real obsession. I grew up with Harry, and I know I’ll still be reading these books for my entire life.

2. Diana Wynne Jones. She will always be my favorite author. She’s the kind of author who makes it impossible not to fall in love with her characters in every book she writes. One of my life goals is to collect all of her books.

3. Sarah Dessen. She always makes my lists, too. Her books were my introduction to YA contemporary fiction; they’re the standard to which I measure all other YA contemporaries. Reading her books is like returning home after a long time away.

5. Pride and Prejudice, Jane Austen. For me, this is the ultimate love story. The kind of slow-building love that isn’t perfect; it’s messy, they make mistakes, they have faults.

6. The Story of May, Mordicai Gerstein. Though I read this in the second grade, I think this is the earliest memory I have of being totally consumed by a book. I also think this is the book that began my obsession with fantasy. With beautiful illustrations, the months of the year are personified as a family. I read this book so much during the school year that my second grade teacher just gave it to me at the end of the year.

7. Markus Zusak. The quality of his books is undeniable. Whenever someone asks me for a book recommendation, I always say, “I Am the Messenger” without hesitation.

8. John Green. He’s so much more than an author. I love that he connects with his readers, and I love being a Nerdfighter.

9. The Angus, Thongs, and Full Frontal Snogging series, Louise Rennison. The first series where I actually laughed out loud while reading. Georgia Nicholson is so full of hilarity, it’s impossible not to laugh at her hilarious narrative about her crazy friends and family.

10. The Hunger Games series, Suzanne Collins. This series began an awesome trend of kick-ass YA heroines, girls who fight for the people they love and what they believe in.

10 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday: Top Ten Books/Authors I’m Thankful For

  1. I really need to read more Diana Wynne Jones. Would you believe I’ve only read one of her books? And it was so good I made it one of my life goals to read all of them. But I’ve yet to make a proper start!

Leave a Reply

