2012 End of Year Book Survey

As this is my first year blogging, this is the first time I’m participating in The End of Year Book Survey, hosted by Jamie at The Perpetual Page Turner. So let’s take a look back at 2012!

Best in Books 2012

1. Best book you read in 2012?

The Girl Who Circumnavigated Fairyland in a Ship of Her Own Making and The Girl Who Fell Beneath Fairyland and Led the Revels There, Catherynne M. Valente. These books are so beautiful, so wonderful, that I just want to hug them close and never let go.

2. Book you were excited about and thought you were going to love more but didn’t?

Masque of the Red Death, Bethany Griffin. A dystopian plague novel based on an Edgar Allen Poe story? I thought this one was a sure thing, but I was extremely underwhelmed.

3. Most surprising (in a good way!) book of 2012?

The Sweetest Dark, Shana Abe. Dragons stories can be difficult to get right, but I completely fell for this one.

4. Book you recommended to people most in 2012?

The Fault in Our Stars, John Green. This is one of those books you just have to read at least once in your lifetime.

5. Best series you discovered in 2012?

The Raven Boys, Maggie Stiefvater. I’ve had mixed opinions about her novels, but The Raven Boys was so freaking good. The boys themselves are the best part of this new series.

6. Favorite new authors you discovered in 2012?

Kate Elliott, Rachel Neumeier, and Gayle Forman. Kate Elliott made me sa-woon big time in her Spiritwalker trilogy. Rachel Neumeier is such a skilled writer, I instantly wanted to read all of her other books after reading The Floating Islands. I literally just read If I Stay earlier today and now I’m a complete fangirl.

7. Best book that was out of your comfort zone or was a new genre for you?

Daughter of Smoke and Bone and Days of Blood and Starlight, Laini Taylor. I’ve never really been into the paranormal genre; I’m more of a fantasy/sci-fi/dystopian kind of girl. But Laini Taylor blew me away with her incredible writing and intriguing world of angels and chimera.

8. Most thrilling, unputdownable book in 2012?

The Passage, Justin Cronin. Harrowing and terrifying. I LOVED this book.

9. Book you read in 2012 that you are most likely to re-read next year?

The Mark of Athena, Rick Riordan. I can’t get enough of Percy Jackson! Also The Crimson Crown by Cinda Williams Chima. This is one of my favorite series, so I know I’ll be rereading them all again soon.

10. Favorite cover of a book you read in 2012?

The Selection, Kiera Cass. Though I had a lot of problems with the book itself, the cover is ABSOLUTELY GORGEOUS.

the selection cover

11. Most memorable character in 2012?

Elisa from The Girl of Fire and Thorns series by Rae Carson. I read the first two books in this series this year, and Elisa is everything I would want in a heroine.

12. Most beautifully written book read in 2012?

The Fault in Our Stars, John Green. Obviously.

13. Book that had the greatest impact on you in 2012?

Legend, Marie Lu. This is the first book I reviewed on my blog!

14. Book you can’t believe you waited UNTIL 2012 to finally read?

The Passage, Justin Cronin.

15. Favorite passage/quote from a book you read in 2012?

“My thoughts are stars I cannot fathom into constellations.” The Fault in Our Stars, John Green.

16. Shortest & longest book you read in 2012?

The shortest would probably be The Great Unexpected by Sharon Creech and the longest The Passage by Justin Cronin.

17. Book that had a scene in it that had you reeling and dying to talk to somebody about it? (a WTF moment, an epic revelation, a steamy kiss, etc. etc.) Be careful of spoilers!

This one is a big spoiler, but there’s a revelatory moment with September and Saturday at the end of The Girl Who Circumnavigated Fairyland in a Ship of Her Own Making that just made me go “AHHHH! OMG YAY!!!” and smile like a fool.

18. Favorite relationship from a book you read in 2012 (be it romantic, friendship, etc.)?

I’m going to do one of each. My favorite romantic relationship was between Cat and Andevai in The Spiritwalker Trilogy by Kate Elliott because of how it’s so freaking hot. My favorite friendship was between Gansey, Adam, Ronan, and Noah in The Raven Boys by Maggie Stiefvater.

19. Favorite book you read in 2012 from an author you read previously?

The Diviners, Libba Bray. I loved her Gemma Doyle trilogy, and now I can’t wait for more in The Diviners series.

20. Best book you read that you read based SOLELY on a recommendation from somebody else?

I really can’t think of anything in particular, but now that I’m following a ton of book blogs, I’m sure I’ll have a good answer next year!

Book Blogging/Reading Life in 2012

I’m going to skip some of the questions in this section because my blog is relatively new and I don’t have good answers yet!

1. New favorite book blog you discovered in 2012?

It would have to be a tie between The Perpetual Page Turner and Good Books and Good Wine.

2. Favorite review that you wrote in 2012?

My review of Legend by Marie Lu because it was my first and I was so excited to start blogging.

5. Best event that you participated in (author signings, festivals, virtual events, memes, etc.)?

I went to ALA Annual this year and got a ton of books (both ARCs and published), most of which I reviewed for this blog!

7. Most popular post this year on your blog (whether it be by comments or views)?

My list of my favorite Diana Wynne Jones books, an author I will use any excuse at all to mention or rave about.

10. Did you complete any reading challenges or goals that you had set for yourself at the beginning of the year?

One goal I achieved that I set before this year was to start a book blog and this year, I finally did it! I love, love, love talking about books. I also discovered a ton of new blogs that I love checking every day.

Looking Ahead…

1. One book you didn’t get to in 2012 but will be your number 1 priority in 2013?

The answer to this question is a really long list. My TBR shelf is ginormous. I usually prioritize whatever kind of book I’m in the mood for, whether that’s fantasy, contemporary, etc., so my priorities change constantly.

2. Book you are most anticipating for 2013?

The Moon and More, Sarah Dessen. Because it’s Sarah Dessen.

3. One thing you hope to accomplish or do in your reading/blogging in 2013?

Comment more on other blog posts! For some reason, this is something I’m wary of even though all the discussions I’ve seen on other blogs have been fun and welcoming.

5 thoughts on “2012 End of Year Book Survey

    1. I liked The Twelve, but I feel I’m in the minority on that one…I’ll be sticking around for the final book in the trilogy, but yeah, The Twelve was really sad.

Leave a Reply

