Book Review: And All the Stars by Andrea K. Host

and all the stars cover

View from the window seat:
Madeleine Cost wants to win the Archibald Prize for portraiture and hopes for her famous cousin Tyler to be the subject. On her way to meet him, the unimaginable happens: Spires, vast towers covered in stars, appear in every major city in the world and spew dust that covers everything. Madeleine, coated in dust and unsure of the effects, must make her way out of the collapsed underground train station and figure out how to survive in this changed world.

To discuss the Spires and the reasons behind the apocalyptic setting of this story would be to reveal major spoilers and plot points and I don’t want to ruin it for anyone. Discovering what’s actually happening alongside Maddie and her friends is really enjoyable and I don’t want to deprive anyone of that experience. So I’ll start with the characters, because…oh, these characters. I love them so much. First, I love how this group features not only gay characters but also POC characters. On a deeper level, every character is so unique. Their personalities jump off the page, making me feel like I know each and every one of them. I wish they were real, because I really want to be friends with all of them. Maddie, Noi, Fisher, Pan, Nash, Min, Emily, Tyler, Gavin…I love them all.

Their group dynamic is what really made me fall in love with this book. From the very first moments when they all meet, their rapport is natural and familiar. These characters were obviously meant to be a part of each other’s lives. In some weird way, I’m almost glad for the apocalypse that forced them all together. They need each other, and support each other, in a way that feels right and perfect.

And the romance! Ah, such lovely romance. Maddie’s comes with a huge twist, and I loved seeing how she deals with it afterwards because it’s something that seems insurmountable.

Overall impression:
And All the Stars features a diverse cast of memorable and lovable characters that left me with a warm and fuzzy feeling after reading.

Rating:
8

Note: I received this e-ARC from the publisher  via NetGalley.

2 thoughts on “Book Review: And All the Stars by Andrea K. Host

Leave a Reply

