Top Ten Tuesday: Top Ten Favorite Book Covers

Top Ten Tuesday is a weekly meme hosted by The Broke and the Bookish where each week we get a new topic for a top ten list. We get a freebie this week in honor of Christmas, so I chose top ten favorite book covers. People say, “Don’t judge a book by its cover,” but then I’m all, “Don’t tell me what to do, people! I DO WHAT I WANT.” Here are ten of my favorite book covers.

1. The Hobbit, J. R. R. Tolkien. I just love these two versions of the cover. My copy actually has a different cover, but I would totally be willing to buy two more copies just to have these covers on my shelf.

                             

2. Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows, J. K. Rowling. I remember when I first held this in my hands at midnight, and I just looked at the cover and shivered.

3. The Floating Islands, Rachel Neumeier. This cover is so beautiful.

4. The Girl Who Circumnavigated Fairyland in a Ship of Her Own Making, Catherynne M. Valente. The cover, and the illustrations inside, perfectly capture the essence of the story.

5. The King of Attolia, Megan Whalen Turner. I just look at this cover and think power.

6. The Goose Girl, Shannon Hale. A magical cover for a fairytale retelling.

7. Mockingjay, Suzanne Collins. Subtle and fitting.

8. Deep Secret, Diana Wynne Jones. I love everyone’s expressions. They’re exactly how I imagine the characters would look.

9. The Selection, Kiera Cass. The cover is so pretty…the writing not so much. I was led astray by the shiny mirrors and flow-y dress.

10. This Lullaby, Sarah Dessen. There’s just something so vulnerable about this cover.

3 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday: Top Ten Favorite Book Covers

  1. I agree with the Deathly Hallows being a great cover. It’s by far my favorite cover of the series, and it might be the only HP book where I prefer the US cover to all others, especially the UK version.

  2. I haven’t read the Selection, but I also think the cover is sooooo pretty. I love that shade of blue, and the pretty dress doesn’t hurt either 🙂

    The Goose Girl is one of my favorite books, but I don’t love the cover. I don’t hate it, but I feel like there isn’t anything to focus on. But that is just me 🙂

Leave a Reply

