Top Ten Tuesday: Top Ten Bookish Goals for 2013

Top Ten Tuesday is a weekly meme hosted by The Broke and the Bookish where each week we get a new topic for a top ten list. This week, I make some reading goals for the year.

 

1. Complete my Goodreads Reading Challenge of 150 books. This is my first year doing a Goodreads reading challenge. I know 150 books is a tall order (especially since a lot of my time is spent on the job hunt), so we’ll see how it goes.

2. Read books outside my comfort zone. I know what I like when it comes to books, and I tend to stick to what I like. This year I want to broaden my horizons and try to read things I wouldn’t normally choose to read.

3. Ask for more recommendations! This kind of goes along with the last one…I choose basically everything I read. I want to read some books based solely on others’ recommendations even if those books are outside of my comfort zone. I also want to ask my friends more often for recommendations and not immediately judge the books they choose.

4. Get more books out of the library. I spend a ridiculous amount (RIDICULOUS) on books every year. I need to calm down, especially since I have stacks of books that I haven’t even gotten to read yet. Speaking of…

5. Start making my way through the absurd amount of unread books in my house. I have a serious backlog of books that I should read since I paid for them and all.

6. Accept that it’s ok to not finish a book. I can only think of two times in recent memory when I didn’t finish a book. There are some books on this blog that I’ve given low reviews, ones that I probably should not have kept reading after I realized I wasn’t into it. This is a big problem for me, because I feel guilty for some reason if I don’t finish a book. Once I pick it up, I’m committed even though that’s ridiculous. There are so many books I want to read; I need to stop wasting time on the ones that I’m not enjoying.

7. Donate books that I won’t read again. I literally own hundreds of books. While the majority of these are keepers, ones I reread a lot or ones that I just want on my bookshelf, I do own some that I know I’ll never pick up again. It’s time to actually go through them and donate to the library.

8. Try to go to author events nearby. The only author event I’ve ever been to was a John Green one. It was a lot of fun, and I definitely want to go to more.

9. Listen to audiobooks. The only audiobooks I’ve ever listened to are the Harry Potter ones and I used to listen to them all the time on cassette during long car rides. I’ve been spending more time at the gym in an effort to be less of a couch potato, and I should try listening to audiobooks while on the treadmill. There’s only so much HGTV I can watch.

10. Reread the Harry Potter series. Ok, this isn’t a real goal because I do this every year.

8 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday: Top Ten Bookish Goals for 2013

  1. #7 is a great goal. When I think of all the books I have and my dislike for re-reads, they’d be better off with people who would appreciate them more than I do.

    good luck with achieving your goals this year! 🙂

  2. I’m in the middle of trying to do number 7. It was a bit sad really, in my whole collection I managed to pull about 5 books. Obviously it is something I need to revisit. I’m positive there are more than five than can be donated.

  3. Luckily for me, I have a book group that I’m part of that I can take my books I finish to and get rid of most of them, or save them up for the annual reading festival a local library puts on where that book club gets together and gives away hundreds of books for free. It’s coming up next month, eep! 😀

      1. It’s mostly aimed at kids 12 and under (last year we were across from Word Girl and some Sesame Street characters), but it is a TON of fun and we “release–techincally we’re a part of Bookcrossings.com–loads of books to kids and their parents.

Leave a Reply

