Top Ten Tuesday: Top Ten Most Frustrating Characters Ever

Top Ten Tuesday is a weekly meme hosted by The Broke and the Bookish where each week we get a new topic for a top ten list. This week focuses on characters that make you want to scream from frustration. I have a feeling everyone’s list is going to be really amusing!

1. Bella from Twilight. I feel like this is a given. Prime example: putting herself in life threatening situations just so she can hear the imaginary voice of the boy she’s obsessed with.

think for myself? I don’t understand…

2. Professor Umbridge from Harry PotterI hate this woman with the fiery passion of a thousand burning suns. She’s crazy and prejudiced and just plain wrong 100% of the time. You know there’s nothing you can do, because she’s so arrogant that she would never change or listen to reason.

yes. this.

3. Holden Caulfield from The Catcher in the Rye. I know people revere this book, but I hated reading it in high school. Holden was just so whiny and annoying the whole book. Maybe if I read it now I would appreciate it more, but I’m really not willing to put in the effort. 

please stop talking, holden.

4. Wendy Darling from Tiger Lily. God, Wendy is such a bitch. Team Tiger Lily FTW! 

no, shut up. you’re the worst.

5. Bryce Loski from FlippedBryce in the beginning of this book is such an idiot. He’s totally blind to the real Juli. He redeems himself in the end, though, so he only counts as frustrating in the beginning/middle.

this is only one moment of adorableness out of many.

6. Remy from This Lullaby. I love Remy, I really do. This Lullaby is my second favorite Sarah Dessen novel. But many times I wanted to shake her and scream, “Stop being so cold and give your heart to Dexter because he’s adorable and awesome!”

HATE SPINNERBAIT.

7. Harry Potter from Harry Potter and the Order of the PhoenixNo one likes emo Harry.

angst, angst, angst.

8. Georgia Nicolson from Angus, Thongs, and Full-Frontal Snogging. Georgia is the British BFF I never had, but sometimes she’s completely oblivious.

nunga nungas!

9. Frodo Baggins from The Lord of the Rings. Stop being mean to Sam, Frodo!

they see me rollin’, they hatin’

10. Romeo from Romeo and JulietWAIT FIVE SECONDS TO SEE IF SHE’S REALLY DEAD BEFORE YOU KILL YOURSELF, MORON.

fine, Leo, I’ll cry BUT I WON’T LIKE IT.
17 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday: Top Ten Most Frustrating Characters Ever

  1. Yes, number one. She is my number one as well. Just, ugh. And Holden Caulfield annoys me to no end, I really like the boys name Holden, but refuse to ever use it based on that character alone.

  2. Definitely agree with most of this list! I haven’t read all these books, but yes to Bella, Umbridge, Holden, and Romeo. I’ve actually seen Frodo on three list already, which surprises me a little, since I normally think of Boromir as being the go-to frustrating character in LOTR, but I can definitely see where frustration towards Frodo can come from. It’s been too long since I’ve read the book–I might have a similar reaction reading it now.

  3. I totally didn’t think of Professor Umbridge, what a great pick. Although I think I HATED her more then found her frustrating. Yes, we could all have done without Emo Harry. LOL I’ve seen Frodo on a couple lists and I definitely get it. He got more and more frustrating as the serious went along.

  4. I wish I’d though of Romeo (although I don’t know who I would bump). I have Bella and Umbridge on my list too. And yes I wanted Umbridge dead more that Voldemorte.

Leave a Reply

