Top Ten Tuesday: Top Ten Favorite Romances

Top Ten Tuesday is a weekly meme hosted by The Broke and the Bookish where each week we get a new topic for a top ten list. Oh Romeo, Romeo, wherefore art thou Romeo? Hah, just kidding, I hate Romeo. But I do like other romances! Actually, I’m pretty sure my list of favorite romances expands far beyond just ten, so this is less of a top ten list and more of a the-first-ten-I-think-of list.

1. Sophie and Howl, Howl’s Moving Castle. I love them forever and ever. The end.

2. Dexter and Remy, This Lullaby. They shouldn’t work, but from the moment Dexter crashes into Remy, everything clicks.

3. Elizabeth Bennet and Mr. Darcy, Pride and PrejudiceMy favorite romantic moment ever (talking about the Keira Knightley movie, though I love the romance in the book as well) is when Elizabeth’s in Mr. Darcy’s house and he sees her so she runs away but he follows her and she’s dithering on and is like “I like to walk” and he just says “I know” with this little exhalation because he knows her, like really knows her. Sigh.

4. Ron and Hermione, Harry PotterObviously.

5. Arwen and Aragorn, The Lord of the Rings. I know most of their romance wasn’t in the books, but if you read the appendices, it’s one of the saddest stories I’ve ever read.

6. Hazel and Augustus, The Fault in Our StarsSob.

7. Ella and Char, Ella Enchanted. If you look up adorable in the dictionary, it’s a picture of Ella and Char.

8. Tris and Four, Divergent. God, Four is hott.

9. Katniss and Peeta, The Hunger Games. If you can make it through something like the Games and still love each other, I think your relationship is pretty solid.

10. Me and Zachary Levi. Wait…this one might not be real.

it’s like he’s looking into my SOUL.
12 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday: Top Ten Favorite Romances

  1. I also chose Tris and Four and Char and Ella. Ella Enchanted was one of my favorite childhood books, and I wanted a prince, too!

    Arwen and Aragorn is also a fantastic choice; they do have a beautiful story.

  2. I have Remy and Dexter on my list too! Katniss and Peeta and Ron and Hermione are among my favorite literary couples of all time. (Although sometimes I do want Harry with Hermione. Hee.) For LOTR, I sort of have a soft spot for Eowyn. So it’s her and Faramir. And I agree about Ella and Char. Such a sweet and cute duo. 😀

  3. Both number 3 and number 4 of your list made it on to mine too.
    I’ve been wanting to read Howl’s Moving Castle for so long now… And a couple of other books on your list!

  4. LOL. You definitely had me gigglying about you and Zachary Levi.

    I love that scene in Pride and Prejudice the movie, too. So swoonworthy. Darcy is the man!

Leave a Reply

