Book Review: Shatter Me by Tahereh Mafi

View from the window seat:
Juliette’s touch is fatal. That’s why the Reestablishment locked her up in an asylum, after she accidentally killed someone. The world has bigger problems than Juliette, though. The world is dying: crops won’t grow, animals are gone, people are dying, the weather is chaotic. The Reestablishment claims it’s the only salvation for humanity. But with whispers of rebellion, the Reestablishment decides they might need Juliette. She can be their weapon, or she can fight to choose her path for the first time in her life.

This is going to be a difficult review to write. I’ve heard so many people raving about this book (including two of my book club BFFs). I wanted to instantly love it…and I didn’t.

I feel everyone is looking at me like this right now.

I think it was hard for me to get into because the writing style was so different from what I’m used to. There are a lot of hyperboles and similes and I kept getting lost in the long descriptions.

every single description in the book.

I get it, though. Juliette has been in isolation for so long, of course she’s going to sound a little crazy in her narrative. She uses numbers to keep herself sane and she’s obsessed with words, so naturally she uses as many as possible. I think it’s just such a different way of writing, especially with the cross-outs, that it threw me off a bit.

I didn’t love Juliette either. She was very goody-two-shoes. She redeems herself when she shoots a douchebag, but most of the time I wanted Adam to stop praising her and start making her stand up for herself.

george takei knows what’s up.

I really think I stuck around for the superpowers, because superpowers are awesome. When Kenji is introduced, things start getting interesting. So even though the writing threw me off, I’m going to stick around for Unravel Me. Because…superpowers. 

this is the most perfect gif to sum up Shatter Me. the gif gods are smiling upon me.

Overall impression:
Though the writing style isn’t my thing, the ending of Shatter Me left me wanting to find out what happens next.

 Rating:
5

14 thoughts on “Book Review: Shatter Me by Tahereh Mafi

  1. Soooo… I kind of really loved this one. I think some parts were a little unnecessary, but one of the things I loved most was all the crossed out lines. I think they showed how crazy Juliette had been and how she dealt with her inner thoughts. But, at first it was really distracting and I found myself glancing over them from time to time. Also LOVE the Family Guy gif. In my own review of this I said something like “Bzzzt! You’re dead!” talking about Juliette’s powers. 🙂

  2. haha… i totally disagree with you…. but I LOVED YOUR POST!!! The GIFs are hysterical. I can see how the writing style is a hit or miss for people. it def takes some getting used to. i guess it didn’t bother me because i felt it captured juliette’s mental state considering she’d been isolated for so long. BOOK CLUB 4 LIFE!! xoxo

  3. Awww, too bad you didn’t really like this one. I think the writing style is not for everyone, but I loved it and thought it was so unique. Kenji was my favorite thing about Unravel Me. The guy is brilliant! And yay for superpowers 😀 (I have to agree with Betty though: LOVE the gifs hahaha.)

  4. LOL It’s like you took the words out of my mouth! I never want to see another strike through again and the metaphors and alliteration and…I could go on but yeah I bought the next one and the novella because for some reason I still I want to keep reading!

Leave a Reply

