Cover Changes: Yay or Nay?

The new Stephanie Perkins covers were revealed yesterday, and Twitter exploded with raves, disappointments, and apathy. Personally, I’m not a fan of cover changes. I get why publishers do it. It can be a great way to expand an audience for a book or to generate hype. But like everything in the book world, there’s a dark side, particularly when it happens mid-series. Sometimes it seems like publishers are changing the covers just to screw over the people who are OCD like I am and want to have all the books in a series match.

my typical reaction to a cover change.

It’s time to pass some judgement on some recent cover changes, yo.

Anna and the French Kiss

This series I’m not as attached to because I only own Anna and the French Kiss and I haven’t read it yet. I thought I’d comment on it first, though, since it inspired this post.

                    Screen Shot 2013-03-06 at 11.34.11 PM         

I do like the colors and the backgrounds of the new Stephanie Perkins books. The original covers are kind of cheesy. I don’t like the new font or the little designs (heart, star, flower) that are included in the title. A lot of people were saying on Twitter how these new covers might not appeal to teens, and I have to agree. The new ones are very mature.

My vote: Yay!

Shatter Me

To be honest, I’m not attached to this one either. Maybe it’s because I wasn’t thrilled with the story, or maybe it’s because I got this for free at ALA.

                Screen Shot 2013-03-06 at 11.34.11 PM                

The new cover is one hundred times better! The first cover looks ridiculous. The new cover is gorgeous and mysterious.

My vote: Yay!

Delirium

This is a series I’m very invested in. I bought Delirium before it really took off, so I have the original cover.

                 Screen Shot 2013-03-06 at 11.34.11 PM                

I’m not in love with the first cover. It’s kind of boring. That said, I really dislike the new covers. There’s just nothing to set them apart from a million other YA books with close-ups of girls’ faces on the cover. Also, the new Delirium cover looks eerily similar to the original Uglies cover.

My vote: Nay!

Uglies

Speaking of Uglies

                   Screen Shot 2013-03-06 at 11.34.11 PM                  

This is a case of cover change gone right. They waited until the series was finished before repackaging it. I love the new covers; I think now they more accurately reflect the story.

My vote: Yay!

Sarah Dessen

This isn’t a complaint about a series. Penguin recently decided to change the covers of Sarah Dessen’s novels, which are all stand-alones, to introduce them to a new audience.

                Screen Shot 2013-03-06 at 11.34.11 PM                  

I loved everything about the old covers. Literally everything. And now they want to mess with my favorite books? No way, Jose. Look at that new cover. It’s literally just a random picture of a bracelet. Ugh.

My vote: Nay!

The Howl Companion Novels

Diana Wynne Jones’s books have gone through tons of covers in tons of countries, so a change isn’t unexpected. The ones I’m talking about are for the novels in what I call the Howl series, which is a set of companion novels that take place in the same world and feature some of the same characters.

                   Screen Shot 2013-03-06 at 11.34.11 PM                    

I have a soft spot for the first cover because it’s the one I own. That said, I love the new covers, too. I think they really capture the whimsical nature of the stories. Also, that aquamarine/teal color is so pretty.

My vote: Yay!

Harry Potter

Usually I’m loath to change anything that has to do with Harry Potter. It’s perfect as is, damnit!

                 Screen Shot 2013-03-06 at 11.34.11 PM                 

I’m sure this is a way to squeeze more money out of HP fans, but this time I just don’t care because LOOK HOW PRETTY OMG I LOVE IT. The new cover is awesome and I can’t wait to see what the rest of them look like. I just may have to buy a second set now.

My vote: Yay!

The tally:

Yay: 5

Nay: 2

Wait a minute…maybe I am a fan of cover changes…

Let’s chat! Are you a lover or a hater when it comes to cover changes? Any ones that made you go grabby-hands or ones that made you shake your fists in frustration?

Leave a Reply

