Book Review: Under the Never Sky by Veronica Rossi

View from the window seat:
Exiled from her home, a Pod city called Reverie, Aria doesn’t know what to do. Outside in the Death Shop, she could face cannibals or wolves. Those pale in comparison to the Aether storms, which scorch the earth randomly, leaving nothing alive. Aria knows her chances of survival are slim…until she encounters Perry. He’s a savage Outsider, bred as a hunter with Senses she doesn’t understand. He repulses her, but he can also help her. The feeling’s mutual; Perry just sees Aria as a useless Dweller. But Aria might hold the key to Perry’s chance to make things right with his tribe. Together, they’ll travel across dangerous lands and forge an alliance that just might grow into something more.

For some reason, it took me forever to read this book. I kept picking it up and putting it down this week. I think I was just in a major reading slump. Also, I found the beginning to be very slow. I mean, there’s a lot of action, but I just found the world confusing. Things were dumped on me, like smarteyes and Realms and Aether and tribes. It was all just a lot to process. There are a lot of different elements trying to work together here: dystopian, fantasy, a touch of science fiction. Usually I’m pretty good at picking up different worlds, but this one was hard for me to get into.

The turning point came when Roar arrived, a character I instantly took a liking to. He’s handsome and skilled and funny. Once he entered the story, I kind of just wanted it to be all about him. I loved his friendship with Perry. The two of them being best friends just felt easy and natural. I feel like a really awesome story would be Roar, Perry, and Liv having adventures and kicking ass. I say this without even knowing Liv as a character, since she’s merely mentioned in this book and isn’t actually in it. But I bet the three of them would be like the three musketeers with their weapons and badassery.

There’s definitely a case of insta-love here. Perry and Aria are only together for a few days before he’s imprinting all over her like a goddamn werewolf. That said, I still found myself enjoying their romance. It’s bittersweet, and I’m not sure how they’re going to make it work in the future. I have every confidence that the sexy times will continue somehow, though.

Overall impression:
Under the Never Sky was a slow start for me, but once things picked up, I couldn’t stop reading. I’m excited to see what happens next.

Rating:
6

6 thoughts on “Book Review: Under the Never Sky by Veronica Rossi

  1. love the new look!! it took me a while to figure this one out too… but once i got it… i LOOOOVED it!! roar is the best. if you haven’t read through the ever night yet, you are in for a treat. 🙂

Leave a Reply

