Poem Revelry {1}: About A Boy

Hi there, and welcome to my new feature, Poem Revelry! (Hold for applause.) So, a little while ago I participated in the Book Blogger Love-A-Thon (which was tons of fun btw) and one of the mini-challenges of the day was to create some book spine poetry. At first I was all, whine this is too hard whine whine. But then I put some effort into it and it was so much fun! I decided I couldn’t stop at just one poem, and thus a feature was born.

Here’s the poem I wrote for the Love-A-Thon, copied so it can be categorized with the subsequent poems.

Screen Shot 2013-03-17 at 1.11.04 AM

“About a Boy”

Shadow and bone,
Fire and hemlock,
Return to me
Asunder.

Space between us
(not that I care)
Listen to my voice,
Liar.

A wrinkle in time,
The memory of running,
A mango-shaped space,
Love or fate?

A heartbreaking work of staggering genius
Flipped
Monsters of men.
(What happened to goodbye?)

Everything is illuminated,
Paradise lost.

If only you knew
A great and terrible beauty.

Leave a Reply

