Name Change! From The Window Seat to…Book Revels!

Hello everyone! Settle down around the campfire and let me tell you a story. Once upon a time, I decided to start a book blog because I wanted to share my thoughts on books and meet awesome people who love to read as much as I do. The problem? I couldn’t come up with a name. I’m probably the least creative person ever when it comes to names, titles, etc. So I reached out to my infinitely-more-creative friend, and she came up with “The Window Seat.” The idea was to evoke the picture of being curled up in a sunny window seat with a stack of books and all day to read. I liked it, so I that’s the name I went with when I started out.

Flash to: months later, sometime before this present moment. I’m reading a book called The Girl Who Fell Beneath Fairyland and Led the Revels There. It’s an awesome book, and everyone should read that series. But anyways…I’m reading and I keep looking at the title and I’m just like, hmmmm I like the word “revels.” It just became one of those words that I just love to say. (Side story: my favorite word in the entire world is “raze.”)

Flash to: sometime later (this timeline is really vague). A name pops into my mind: “Book Revels.” It probably pops up because I kept trying and failing to find ways to use “revels” in daily conversation. A light went off and I thought, what a great blog name. But I already had a blog name, plus a twitter, tumblr, and email that all related to said blog name. So I just kind of tried to let it go.

Flash to: today! I couldn’t let it go. The name just stuck with me, and I found I really loved it. I loved the idea of being merry and wild and noisy and just having fun with books. Plus, I loved the fact that it was something I came up with myself, even if it was a bit later than I needed to come up with it.

So that is why I’m changing the name of my blog and my other media presences. I’m now on Twitter as @bookrevels and on Tumblr at http://bookrevels.tumblr.com. Don’t forget to update your readers with the new blog address: https://bookrevels.wordpress.com. I also added a fun new blog button. You can get the code to add my button to your blog on my About Me page.

Screen Shot 2013-03-16 at 10.48.20 PM

Thank you all for your patience. I hope you’ll bear with me in this confusing time and will still want to read my blog!

Now that the name changes are all done…let’s party!

2 thoughts on “Name Change! From The Window Seat to…Book Revels!

Leave a Reply

