You Just Read THE BEST BOOK EVER and Now You Don’t Know What To Do

After finally listening to the squeals of fangirling across the book blogging community, I read my first Gayle Forman book last December. I was instantly a convert. Her newest book, Just One Day, was released on January 8th. I thought I had loved her books before, but nothing compared to my falling head-over-heels for Just One Day. I put it down and thought, “It can’t be topped.” Then I cried some more and flapped my hands about in a panic before settling down with a box of cookies. I think readers everywhere have felt this before: that nothing will ever be as good as the book just read. Here are my tips for coping.

1. Take a breather from reading. When something is that good, sometimes you just need to take a step back and soak it in. I find it easiest to really digest an amazing book by occupying my time with something else. Usually that something else for me is television, but any hobby will do (I like to pretend that television is a legitimate hobby since I have no discernable skills).

2. Switch genres. Just One Day is contemporary, so I switched focus and read an historical fiction novel next. Of course, sometimes this tip doesn’t work because the historical fiction just happened to be Code Name Verity, which is one of the best books I’ve read in my lifetime. Thus, the process started all over again.

3. Ask a trusted book friend for help. Recommendations can get you out of a reading funk and back to flying through those pages. Wading through the plethora of published books can be overwhelming, so turning to a friend with similar tastes might help you discover a new book love.

4. Have faith. For the next however many books you read, doubts will linger in your mind that they couldn’t possibly live up to the words you already cherish. Fear not! There will always be another perfect book out there. You just need to keep the faith that it will reach your hands eventually. Even if you don’t find it right away, there will still be entertaining and enjoyable stories to read in the meantime. When you do finally pick up that next five-star read, you’ll be ready for it.

Let’s chat! How do you handle reading a totally amazing, incomparable book? What books have you read that you think are the best ones ever written?

8 thoughts on “You Just Read THE BEST BOOK EVER and Now You Don’t Know What To Do

  1. OH MY. I totally get this. I also do the switching genres ! I read “breather reads” which help me get over my love for a certain book, and absorb it all. Sometimes I wait to write my review a few days as well, to let it all sink in! SO GLAD u loved Just One Day, as did I! Haven’t gotten to CNR yet, though!

  2. Even though I understand the concept of breather reads, I hardcore lack in the execution department. When I flail over a book, I just want to read a million more books that are EXACTLY THE SAME and it ends in disappointment 99% of the time, even if I stick with the same author. Someone else needs to be in charge of my TBR and force me to be smarter about these things haha.

  3. This is so relevant and your advice is great. I hate book withdrawal, but some things that help me include writing a book review (these emotions need an outlet!), reading something else by the same author, or reading a book for which I do not have crazy high expectations that will only be crushed by the glory of the previous book. And like you said, having faith is really the only way to get through this hard time. 🙂

  4. Haha, I TOTALLY had the same issue after reading Just One Day. I was like, “Now what….?” I can’t remember quite what I did, but I think I DID switch up genres. There was no way I could read another contemp after that and feel the same way! 🙂

Leave a Reply

