Top Ten Tuesday: Top Ten Books I Recommend The Most

Top Ten Tuesday is a weekly meme hosted by The Broke and the Bookish where each week we get a new topic for a top ten list. I have so many lifetime favorites…it was really hard to narrow it down to just ten! Here are ten books that I think you should read no matter what.

Screen Shot 2013-03-16 at 10.41.59 PM

1. I Am The Messenger/The Book Thief, Markus Zusak. I’ve mentioned before that Markus Zusak is one of my all-time favorite authors. These two books are so brilliant and so perfect that I’m always trying to get other people to pick them up.

          

2. The Truth About Forever, Sarah Dessen. This book was the first time I really saw myself in a character. I just got Macy. I love this book so much that I actually have a version of Wes’s tattoo on my foot.

3. Ender’s Game, Orson Scott Card. This is the ultimate sci-fi novel for me. I finally just bought a copy so I can reread it. I can’t wait for the movie. I love the cast, and I think Asa Butterfield is going to kill it as Ender.

4. The Hunger Games, Suzanne Collins. Obviously my favorite dystopian. I read it before it became popular (god, I’m such a book hipster) and got my roommates obsessed with it, too.

                    

5. Howl’s Moving Castle, Diana Wynne Jones. I feel like I mention this book in every post I write on this blog. DWJ is my favorite author, so I love to spread the love! I also haven’t heard of anyone reading one of her books and not liking it. This is really a blanket recommendation for every book she’s ever written.

6. The Thief, Megan Whalen Turner. One of the most intricate fantasy series I’ve ever read. Eugenides is one of my favorite characters of all time.

7. The Fault in Our Stars, John Green. I’m pretty sure everyone’s read this already. This is one of those books that you just have to read.

                    

8. Sabriel, Garth Nix. Another must-read fantasy series. I love Sabriel so much. I’m really psyched that FYA picked Sabriel for book club, because now more people will read it and fall in love!

9. Alanna: The First Adventure, Tamora Pierce. Tamora Pierce is the master. All bow down! (You should start with the Alanna series, but the Tricker’s duet is my favorite of hers.)

10. The Westing Game, Ellen Raskin. I read this book a million times growing up. I finally bought it a year or two ago and it was just as good as I remembered.

                    

12 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday: Top Ten Books I Recommend The Most

  1. Sarah Dessen’s books are always on my recommendation list! I have a group of 8th grade girls who’ve read all of them! 🙂

  2. I can’t believe that I haven’t read I Am The Messenger, especially considering that I constantly push The Book Thief on people because I LOVE IT SO MUCH. I’m happy to hear that you recommend The Truth About Forever. I haven’t read any of Sarah Dessen’s books, but I have this one on my shelf… waiting for me.

  3. I couldn’t do this list without adding The Hunger Games, too. I think some people feel it’s sort of a given, but I recommend it ALL the time, so of course it was going to be listed, lol. Sarah Dessan’s books are so comforting. I’ve read a few, but I still need to get to This Lullaby and The Truth About Forever.

  4. The Book Thief is one of my favourite books ever! The Hunger Games was great, too, but I seem to be the only person in this world who wasn’t knocked off their feet by TFiOS. I’ll make sure to check out the other books on your list as well, they sound interesting! Feel free to check out my TTT if you feel like it! 🙂

Leave a Reply

