For Darkness Shows the Stars Playlist

Screen Shot 2013-03-16 at 10.42.39 PM

I loved reading FDSTS so much that it instantly inspired a playlist in me. You can listen on Spotify or on YouTube! Below are lyrics from the songs I chose that evoke the feelings of the book.

spotify:user:bookrevels:playlist:2uOihg5TNZ4QgCLasA6aNK

1. Shake It Out, Florence + the Machine

And I am done with my graceless heart
So tonight I’m gonna cut it out and then restart
‘Cause I like to keep my issues drawn
It’s always darkest before the dawn

2. Little Talks, Of Monsters and Men

There’s an old voice in my head that’s holding me back
Well tell her that I miss our little talks
Soon it will be over and buried with our past
We used to play outside when we were young
And full of life and full of love.

3. Let Your Heart Hold Fast, Fort Atlantic

All the miles wrecked,
Every broken step,
Always searching, always blind.

4. Bones, Ms Mr

Lost in the pages of self made cages
Life slips away and the ghosts come to play
These are hard times
These are hard times for dreamers
And love lost believers

5. I Hear the Bells, Mike Doughty

I’m
Gone to the moon
Without you, girl, and I’m
Calling to you
Throughout the world

6. Cosmic Love, Florence + the Machine

I took the stars from my eyes, and then I made a map
And knew that somehow I could find my way back
Then I heard your heart beating, you were in the darkness too
So I stayed in the darkness with you

7. Don’t Fence Me In, Daniel Johnston and Brie Stoner

Send me off forever but I ask you
Please
Don’t fence me in

8. Ships in the Night, Mat Kearney

Like ships in the night
You keep passing me by
We’re just wasting time
Trying to prove who’s right

9. Love Lost, The Temper Trap

Our love was lost
But now we’ve found it
And if you flash your heart
I won’t deny it
I promise

10. I Love You, Alex Clare

I was never good with words
My tongue always got it wrong
Hoping that you knew all along
I love you, I love you

11. Dance Me to the End of Love, The Civil Wars

Lift me like an olive branch and be my homeward dove
And dance me to the end of love

12. Love Letters, Paper Route

I’ll do anything it takes to get through
I can carry you to any distance
No one’s ever gonna love you like I do

This time I’m different

13. Paper Airplane, Rosie Thomas

I tell him everything
Call him by the wrong name
Say I’m good at chasing stars

14. A Whole New World, Aladdin

I can show you the world
Shining, shimmering, splendid
Tell me, princess, now when did
You last let your heart decide?

One thought on “For Darkness Shows the Stars Playlist

Leave a Reply

