Top Ten Tuesday: Top Ten Favorite Books I Read Before I Was A Blogger

Top Ten Tuesday is a weekly meme hosted by The Broke and the Bookish where each week we get a new topic for a top ten list. I’ve read and loved a lot of books over the years, so choosing just ten for this week’s topic was really hard. Note: assume that Harry Potter, Lord of the Rings, The Queen’s Thief, The Hunger Games, Sarah Dessen, Markus Zusak, and Diana Wynne Jones are at the top of this list. I’m leaving them off because I feel like I mention them in every post I write and I want to mix it up a bit.

Screen Shot 2013-03-16 at 10.41.59 PM

Screen Shot 2013-04-08 at 10.11.53 PM     Screen Shot 2013-04-08 at 10.16.35 PM     Screen Shot 2013-04-08 at 10.43.11 PM

Screen Shot 2013-04-08 at 10.24.03 PM     Screen Shot 2013-04-08 at 10.25.42 PM

Screen Shot 2013-04-08 at 10.28.48 PM     Screen Shot 2013-04-08 at 10.31.09 PM     Screen Shot 2013-04-08 at 10.33.26 PM

Screen Shot 2013-04-08 at 10.35.18 PM     Screen Shot 2013-04-08 at 10.40.18 PM

1. Summers at Castle Auburn, Sharon Shinn. One of the loveliest fantasies I’ve ever read. Coriel starts off as a child, but she matures over the story. She fights for what she believes in and I love reading her story. Also the romance is totally swoon-worthy.

2. Percy Jackson and the Olympians/Heroes of Olympus, Rick Riordan. I love Percy Jackson. I’m actually torn over which series is my favorite. Of course I love the original, but Heroes of Olympus is just so. good.

3. Crown Duel, Sherwood Smith. This book is criminally underrated. It’s actually two books in one volume. My paperback copy has so many creases from all the times I’ve reread it.

4. Divergent, Veronica Roth. This was the first dystopian series that I read after The Hunger Games and I became obsessed. Then I got my friend to read it and she became obsessed too. I’m so rereading the series before the final book comes out this fall.

5. The Knife of Never Letting Go (Chaos Walking), Patrick Ness. This series is amazing. Intense, emotional, creative, and gripping. READ IT.

6. The Golden Compass (His Dark Materials), Philip Pullman. Oh man, just thinking about this series makes me want to drop everything and reread it, which I haven’t done in years.

7. Ella Enchanted, Gail Carson Levine. My favorite fairytale retelling of all time.

8. A Wrinkle in Time, Madeleine L’Engle. I first read this book in the seventh grade when it was a required reading. Best school assignment ever.

9. The Blue Sword, Robin McKinley. I’ve reread this book countless times. It has everything: romance, battles, smart animal companions who don’t die, a fierce heroine.

10. Sabriel (Abhorsen), Garth Nix. Words cannot express how excited I am that a new story in this universe is coming out soon. All I can do is flail about and scream excitedly.

22 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday: Top Ten Favorite Books I Read Before I Was A Blogger

  1. I love the His Dark Materials Trilogy I thought it was so refreshing and different from anything I have previously read. Great list!

  2. The Golden Compass is on my list, too! I LOVE that series so much. Have you ever listened to the audiobooks? Because they are AMAZING! And also, now I want to reread, too 🙂

  3. While I haven’t read them yet, Percy Jackson, His Dark Materials and Ella Enchanted are high on my to read list. I’ve heard such good things about all of them I need to stop wasting time and start reading them.
    Check out my TTT.

  4. I have Divergent on my shelf but haven’t read it yet. And I’m embarrassed to say that I’ve never read A Wrinkle in Time and I was an English major…how did that happen? Great list!

  5. EEK! The Knife of Never Letting Go! One of the best books I have ever read! I still need to read the last one though. I also love Divergent and The Percy Jackson series! 😀

    Kyra @ Blog of a Bookaholic
    My TTT Post!

  6. SABRIEL and THE BLUE SWORD are on my list, too! What wonderful books. I have to say, I admire your taste. *grin* Oh, and Sharon Shinn! I haven’t read her YA titles yet, but I love some of her adult fantasy (especially the Angels of Samaria series). Great list!

  7. My friend has been telling me forever to read the Percy Jackson books, and I just saw the preview for Sea Of monsters, so I’ll check it out soon. Nice list. 🙂

Leave a Reply

