Book Review: Eleanor & Park by Rainbow Rowell

Eleanor & Park tells the story of two sixteen-year-old misfits who fall in love in the year 1986.

I’m writing this review minutes after finished this book and

and I’m just like

and

and

I can’t review how I usually do, looking critically at everything and being all judge-y over minor things because you can’t judge something that’s perfect and wonderful and so complete that you can’t believe you haven’t held this book in your hands before and eaten up all the words until they fill you to the brim with meaning and purpose.

I can’t review this book, so instead I’ll tell a story. Once upon a time, I was young and in love with a boy. I thought he was perfect (he wasn’t), but he didn’t give me the time of day. He didn’t love me, or even particularly like me, and that was the end of us. What Eleanor & Park does is remind me of little moments, the thrills of making eye contact or touching hands or liking the same things.  To me, that boy was my first love even if he wasn’t a true love. This is the power of Eleanor and her Park; they make you remember what love is.

If I could speak to this book, I would say

Overall impression:
Eleanor & Park is love.

Rating:
10

9 thoughts on “Book Review: Eleanor & Park by Rainbow Rowell

Leave a Reply

