Top Ten Tuesday: Top Ten Childhood Favorites

Top Ten Tuesday is a weekly meme hosted by The Broke and the Bookish where each week we get a new topic for a top ten list. This week is a TTT rewind, so I decided to talk about my favorites from my childhood.

Screen Shot 2013-03-16 at 10.41.59 PM

1. The Story of May, Mordicai Gerstein. I read this book so much during second grade that my teacher just gave it to me at the end of the year. It’s this lovely story about the months as people, with little May going through the year to visit all of her relatives. Hello, gorgeous illustrations!

Screen Shot 2013-04-13 at 12.27.51 AM

2. The Stinky Cheese Man and Other Fairly Stupid Tales, Jon Scieszka and Lane Smith. When I was organizing the children’s books while interning at a library last year, I found this and read it…not going to lie, I still laughed hysterically.

Screen Shot 2013-04-13 at 12.33.08 AM

3. If You Give a Mouse a Cookie, Laura Joffe Numeroff. In first grade, we had to write our own versions of this story. Mine was called “If You Give a Cat a Candy Cane.” A teacher’s aide typed out our words and we illustrated and then the library bound it into a book that was kept in the library. My first published work! hahaha

Screen Shot 2013-04-13 at 12.37.09 AM

4. Voyage on the Great Titanic: The Diary of Margaret Ann Brady (Dear America), Ellen Emerson White. I checked this book out from the library so many times during elementary school. It was obviously the best Dear America book.

Screen Shot 2013-04-13 at 12.43.05 AM

5. The Giver, Lois Lowry. I still love this book. We read it in seventh grade, and as a project, we split into groups and had to create our own society with a set of rules and people. I remember my group did some kind of tree society where everyone lived in treetops…

Screen Shot 2013-04-13 at 12.46.39 AM

6. Walk Two Moons, Sharon Creech. Best yard sale find ever.

Screen Shot 2013-04-13 at 12.51.24 AM

7. Sideways Stories from Wayside School, Louis Sachar. These are some of the funniest books I’ve ever read.

Screen Shot 2013-04-13 at 12.56.12 AM

8. The Westing Game, Ellen Raskin. One of the cleverest books. I finally bought a copy for myself a few years ago.

Screen Shot 2013-04-13 at 1.00.40 AM

9. Stargirl, Jerry Spinelli. I didn’t get the brilliance of this book at first, but it came to me with many re-readings.

Screen Shot 2013-04-13 at 1.06.31 AM

10. Just Ella, Margaret Peterson Haddix. Though not my favorite Cinderella retelling (that award goes to Ella Enchanted), I still loved reading this one. It’s a what-if-happily-ever-after-isn’t-so-perfect telling, and I loved the romance.

Screen Shot 2013-04-13 at 1.10.33 AM

21 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday: Top Ten Childhood Favorites

  1. Oh my gosh I looooooved Wayside School!!! Read them over and over again! Same with The Giver, that book changed my life as a fourth grader…yeah, I know, crazy, but true. And I totally read the Voyage of Titanic! Loved those historical books! Ugh, so many good memories brought up! Great topic!

  2. I absolutely adored Walk Two Moons when I was younger – it was one of those books my teacher basically forced me into reading, one I thought I’d hate (maybe there’s something off-putting about the cover?). But the story turned out to be amazing. And yes, I also loved If You Give A Mouse A Cooke (and now, so so does my three year old brother). I can’t say I cared much for The Giver, though. Great post!

  3. I’ve always wanted to read The Giver, still haven’t. Maybe I should see if they have it at the library 😀 The Stinky Cheese Man…. looks hilarious, I’m curious to read it now, even though I might be a tiny bit too old 😛

  4. I love, love, love The Stinky Cheese Man! Oh and how about The True Story of the Three Little Pigs! Jon Scieszka is amazing! I still haven’t read Stargirl, and I really need to. I actually didn’t like Just Ella that much. I mean, I can see why people would like it, but it just wasn’t a favorite of mine.

  5. I did this topic, too! My list started to get out of control and I had to take the Wayside Stories off, but The Westing Game stayed. I loved The Stinky Cheese Man and If You Give a Mouse a Cookie (and If You Give a Moose a Muffin)!

  6. I’ve recently read If You Give a Mouse a Cookie with my oldest daughter, but I never read it as a kid, nor have I read any of the other books you have listed. I did read Number the Stars by Lois Lowry multiple times, though. Guess I was a slacker as a kid! lol Here’s my TTT

  7. I LOVED If you Give a Mouse a Cookie, The Giver, Stargirl, and Just Ella. I completely forgot about all of these books (except The Giver because it’s still the book I compare all dystopian novels to – I loved it that much). Great TTT!

    Aimee @ Penmanship Smitten | My TTT

  8. I LOVED The Stinky Cheese Man when I was a kid! I thought it was just the funniest! I also loved The Giver, but I just read it recently as an adult!

  9. Oh man. The Stinky Cheese Man! I totally forgot about. I remember it making me laugh and sort of scared to every encounter the Stinky Cheese Man. And I was obsessed with the Sideways stories.

    Here is my top 10.

  10. I’ve only read Star Girl and If You Give a Mouse a Cookie out of all of these, but both are great books. I swear, as a kid I loved reading every single one of those (If You Give a Moose a Muffin, If You Give a Pig a Pancake). If your If You Give a Cat a Candy Cane was in bookstores I would’ve bought and read that one too! 😛

  11. AHH MEMORIES! I always wanted a cookie because of If You Give a Mouse a Cookie, ha! I use to loove those diary books and I remember the cover of Titanic. YES to Ella Enchanted. I read Just Ella too but I can’t remember much about it, eep. Love your list!

Leave a Reply

