Book Review: The Elite by Kiera Cass

Title – Author: The Elite – Kiera Cass
Publisher: Harper Teen
Release Date: April 23, 2013
Series/Standalone: Series – The Selection #2
Format – How I Got It: ARC – Won from Epic Reads

Only six girls remain in The Selection, the contest for Prince Maxon’s hand in marriage. America doesn’t know what to do. Every time she’s with Maxon, she can’t imagine being with anyone else. But when she’s around Aspen, all she can feel is their shared past. The competition grows fierce among the Elite. America just wants time to understand her heart, but her chance to choose might be slipping away.

My review of The Selection wasn’t exactly flattering, and yet somehow I still wanted to read more. I can’t help it! It’s like watching Jersey Shore…you know it’s a trainwreck, but you can’t look away. America somehow got even more annoying in this book. Each chapter literally flips back in forth between her being in love with Maxon and her being in love with Aspen. It’s like as soon as she sees one of them, she forgets about the other. Reading it was like having whiplash. She also spends an inordinate amount of time either giggling or full out bawling.

There were a couple interesting story lines. I liked the development of Marlee; her story gets pretty intense, but I found it so much more interesting than America’s story. There was also a moment with the rebels that could’ve been really interesting but of course it was dropped because it happened away from America. The moment with the rebels had so much potential to really expand the story, but it just wasn’t taken there.

Beware: here comes the spoilers. The best part was the ending. Basically Maxon tells America to get her shit together and start actively trying to be a real confidant and companion to him. I wanted to cheer him on. No more of this wishy-washy crap that took up the whole book. Maxon is even better in this book and Aspen is stupid (take a guess as to which team I’m on…or just read this post). To me, there’s no decision to make. It’s obvious who she should choose. I just loved Maxon calling out America on her stupidity. He’s a catch and he knows he deserves someone who loves and trusts him.

Overall impression:
Obviously I think the writing sucks and the plot/world isn’t very good. So how is it this series keeps me reading and finishing the books in one sitting? How do planes fly? How many licks does it take to get to the center of the tootsie roll pop? The world may never know.

 Rating:
4

3 thoughts on “Book Review: The Elite by Kiera Cass

  1. Haha… I love that despite the fact that you don’t like the writing nor the plot, you still enjoy this series. Who knows what makes us so interested in reality type things like this! I actually really enjoyed The Selection, and I’m looking forward to The Elite, but I was very surprised at how much I enjoyed it. I really thought the plot was lame initially, so I’m not really sure WHAT kept me intrigued by the series! Like you said… the world may never know! 🙂

Leave a Reply

