Top Ten Tuesday: Top Ten Books I Thought I’d Like More/Less Than I Did

Top Ten Tuesday is a weekly meme hosted by The Broke and the Bookish where each week we get a new topic for a top ten list. Expectations make a huge impact on what I read. I can be really disappointed by a book everyone hypes or one that has a great synopsis. I can also be pleasantly surprised by books I took a chance on that I didn’t think were “me books.” Here are ten books where my reactions weren’t what I thought they would be.

Screen Shot 2013-03-16 at 10.41.59 PM

1. The Program, Suzanne Young. I was really unsure about this one, but I ended up really liking it and can’t wait for the rest of the series. (my review)

2. Everneath, Brodi Ashton. I really thought I was going to love this book. I’m obsessed with Greek mythology (well, mythology of any kind) and love retellings. I couldn’t even finish it, it was so bad. (my review)

3. Dualed, Elsie Chapman. This was another one I thought I was going to love. The premise sounded so kickass! Unfortunately, it wasn’t as awesome as it sounded. (my review)

4. Just One Day, Gayle Forman. I knew I was going to love the newest Gayle Forman, but I had no idea how blown away I would be. I loved her first duet, but I didn’t connect with Mia that much. I saw so much of myself in Allyson, though. (my review)

5. Dark Star, Bethany Frenette. This wasn’t a bad book at all. It just turned out to be more paranormal than superhero, which is the book I really wanted, so I ended up disappointed. (my review)

6. And All the Stars, Andrea K. Host. I was surprised by how much I loved this book and all of its characters. (my review)

7. Every Day, David Levithan. This book has been so hyped, I thought I was bound to love it. My reaction? Meh. People give me weird looks when I say I don’t like it, but it just wasn’t for me. (my review)

8. A Confusion of Princes, Garth Nix. I’m madly in love with Nix’s Abhorsen trilogy, so I assumed I would love this book. I wasn’t impressed. (my review)

9. Requiem, Lauren Oliver. Before Requiem, I would’ve said the Delirium trilogy was one of my favorite series. Now, I doubt I’ll recommend it to people. The ending was so terrible, and the final book just simply wasn’t on par with the first two. (my review)

10. The Raven Boys, Maggie Stiefvater. I’ve had mixed results with Stiefvater’s work: hated Shiver but loved The Scorpio Races. I ended up loving The Raven Boys and can’t wait for the next book. (my review)

18 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday: Top Ten Books I Thought I’d Like More/Less Than I Did

  1. I gave Everneath 4 stars on Goodreads, but I kind of mixed feelings about it. I felt like the characters were a little bit flat, especially the love interest, Jack. I just didn’t feel like I was emotional enough about the ending. I wanted to read Dualed, but I just couldn’t get into it in the beginning. Nice list! 🙂

  2. I’ve heard a lot of good things about The Program. I must check it out. I really want to read Everneath too. It’s a shame you thought it was so bad! It’s so annoying when you think you’re going to enjoy a book more than you did. Great list!

  3. We’re reading soulmates I totally agree with all of the ones I’ve read (most of them) and now I’m even more excited for THe Program! And Dualed was great right!

    My Top Ten

  4. I AM ALSO MADLY IN LOVE WITH THE ABHORSEN TRILOGY. I read it as a kid and it’s one of those series that’s always stuck with me. I always feel like no one’s read it because it’s older and fantasy, so I’m always SO HAPPY every time I find someone who’s read it. As for A Confusion of Princes, I felt like the beginning was fairly dry but it’s GARTH NIX so I kept going and the second half or so was REALLY SO MUCH BETTER.

    Yeah. Sorry about the flailing. I could go on like this all day. >.<

  5. I’m pumped to read The Raven Boys — no thanks to book club. Cutting that book certainly doesn’t help me out. haha Then again— you know my style. Maybe I’ll be more likely to read it when no one is forcing me to! Oh… Requiem. :/ Poor Lauren Oliver. It’s gotta suck to have so many fans say that the final book trashed the whole series.

  6. Okay, so I haven’t read any of these books. I have wanted to read Everneath, but I’ve seen it on a few lists today saying they were disappointed with it. I might be pushing that down on my TBR pile.

  7. Hum, perhaps I won’t read on in the Delirium series, although what if the love interest isn’t really dead? Oh the indecision! Lol. A common theme I’m noticing on these lists is The Program (a good surprise) and Duelled (not such a good surprise) – I am editing my ‘wish list’ any moment now. 🙂

  8. Ooooh I’ve had The Raven Boys on my kindle forever, I guess I should get on that!
    I’ve been putting of Requiem for weeks now – intentionally, since I’ve not heard one good thing about it and rather like the series. I need to know what happens, but I don’t want the disappointment!

Leave a Reply

