Top Ten Tuesday: Top Ten Words/Topics That Instantly Make Me Buy/Pick Up A Book

Top Ten Tuesday is a weekly meme hosted by The Broke and the Bookish where each week we get a new topic for a top ten list. When reading blurbs online or in a bookstore, certain words are bound to pop out at me. I mean, I’ve read a lot and I know what I like. Here are ten things that instantly grab my attention when it comes to books.

Screen Shot 2013-03-16 at 10.41.59 PM

 

1. “Fairytale.” I love me some fairytale retellings. I can’t get enough of them. I know the basic story will always be the same, but I can’t help but love new retellings. My favorites: Ella Enchanted, The Goose Girl, Just Ella, Beauty

2. “Mythology.” I’m obsessed with mythology, Greek in particular. My favorites: Percy Jackson, Fury, Abandon

3. “Time travel.” Alternate timelines, traveling through time…basically anything with time and I’m interested. My favorites: The Obsidian Blade, The Time Traveler’s Wife, Pathfinder

4. “Apocalypse.” I love apocalyptic tales. Something about the end of the world just gets my heart racing. My favorites: The Passage, Life As We Knew It

5. “Princess.” I know, there are a million stories about princesses. And yet I can’t stop reading them! I devour anything to do with royalty. My favorites: Girl of Fire and Thorns, The Demon King

6. “Thief.” Oh boy, if there’s an attractive thief in a story, chances are I’m going to fall in love with him. My favorites: The Thief, The Demon King, Alanna

7. “Magic.” This one is a really broad topic, but I love magic. Stories with magic are just better. My favorites: anything Diana Wynne Jones, Crown Duel, Lord of the Rings, The Golden Compass, A Great and Terrible Beauty, Cold Magic

8. “Dystopian.” Yes, the market is flooded with dystopians and many of them aren’t good. I still hold out hope, though, because I love dystopian stories. My favorites: The Hunger Games, The Knife of Never Letting Go, The Maze Runner, The Giver, Divergent

9. “Travel.” I love reading about journeys, not just emotional ones, but physical ones too. My favorites: Just One Day, The Sisterhood of the Traveling Pants, 13 Little Blue Envelopes

10. “Spirits/Ghosts.” I don’t usually go for creepy stories, but recently I’ve been really into it. My favorites: The Name of the Star, The Raven Boys

24 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday: Top Ten Words/Topics That Instantly Make Me Buy/Pick Up A Book

  1. That was a really interesting list. Fairytales can be fun, and I wish I’d remembered to add mythology to my list. Loved hearing your thoughts and the books you’d recommend in each topic.

  2. Great list! I have mythology, dystopian, and travel on my list as well. And I love fairytale retellings. They’re so much fun! And I totally agree about Diana Wynne Jones. I love almost everything I’ve ever read by her.
    My TTT

  3. Fairytale retellings are at the top of my list, too. Oh and I LOVE Ella Enchanted, The Goose Girl and Beauty. I wasn’t madly in love with Just Ella though.

    I love ghost stories, creepy or not. The Name of the Star was a blast!

    Great list!

  4. Ooooh Princess! That’s a good one I didn’t even think of! 🙂 Three that our lists share are “Time Travel” and “Mythology” and “Fairytale”. Great list – I love the words/themes you came up with! 🙂

Leave a Reply

