Best Ensemble Casts in Books

When it comes to tv, a great ensemble cast can make or break a show. I’ve always loved the doctors of Grey’s Anatomy (well, until they killed off my favorite couple and I boycotted the show) and the supernaturals/humans of The Vampire Diaries (and my favorite ensemble within the show is now getting its own spinoff!). And who can forget the epic, will always watch in repeats even though I’ve seen every episode a million times group from Friends? In books, an ensemble cast of characters is rarer, which is understandable. Writing from so many points of view or giving story time to so many characters is difficult and can be overwhelming to the reader. But it can be done! Here are a few of my favorite ensembles of characters in books.

Screen Shot 2013-04-27 at 9.06.27 PM

Gansey had once told Adam that he was afraid most people didn’t know how to handle Ronan. What he meant by this was that he was worried that one day someone would fall on Ronan and cut themselves.

I loved The Raven BoysThe boys themselves are the best part of the story. I loved each and every one of them for being completely different from each other and yet belonging with each other so completely. When Blue joins them, she fits in like she was always meant to be a part of the group. That’s my favorite part of this ensemble: how effortless and natural it feels for them to love each other and be a part of each others’ lives.

Screen Shot 2013-04-27 at 9.14.51 PM

“I could’ve killed you.”
“Or I could have killed you,” Percy said.
Jason shrugged. “If there’d been an ocean in Kansas, maybe.”
“I don’t need an ocean-”
“Boys,” Annabeth interrupted, “I’m sure you both would’ve been wonderful at killing each other. But right now, you need some rest.”
“Food first,” Percy said. “Please?”

The titular heroes of Olympus finally all come together in The Mark of Athena. I wasn’t sure how good this was going to be, making sure all seven of the heroes’ stories advanced and were given their due. Rick Riordan totally pulled it off, though. The heroes quickly became a family, working together to save the world and fight monsters. You know, typical teenage stuff. I loved the dynamic of the group, from the silly moments to the serious ones.

Screen Shot 2013-04-27 at 9.29.12 PM

Evie replied with an eye-roll. “Do you think you can manage to not steal anything while I’m gone?”
“The only thing I’m trying to steal is your heart, doll.” Sam smirked.
“You’re not that talented a thief, Sam Lloyd.”

The Diviners slowly brings a diverse cast who are all unique and with interesting pasts. While Sam Lloyd is my favorite, I love the strengths and weaknesses of every one of them. There’s so much going on in this story and I just want to know everything that’ll happen to these characters.

Let’s chat! Do you have a favorite cast of book characters?

One thought on “Best Ensemble Casts in Books

  1. I heart all three of these ensembles! There seriously is no way to pick which one worked best as they are all so different. If I had to pick my favorite, I’d go with the group from The Raven Boys, even though I have a total soft spot for all things Percy Jackson. Raven Boys were just so oddly interwoven that they just worked… it’s like if you took one out of the group, it would completely change everything. Very good idea and picks!

Leave a Reply

