Book Review: Through the Ever Night by Veronica Rossi

Title – Author: Through the Ever Night – Veronica Rossi
Publisher: HarperTeen
Release Date: January 8, 2013
Series/Standalone: Series – Under the Never Sky #2
Format – Source: Hardcover – Borrowed

Aria and Perry finally reunite after months apart, but their reunion isn’t as happy as it should be. Perry is now Blood Lord of the Tides, and his people hate Aria for being a Dweller. Dissension runs thick in the Tides and Perry struggles to maintain control. On top of that, the Aether storms are getting worse, burning up valuable farming land and pushing the Tides into even greater hardships. Their greatest chance may mean Aria leaving. Will their love survive over distance and time?

I enjoyed Under the Never Sky. I wasn’t blown away and didn’t take to it right away, either. My opinion was the complete opposite in reading Through the Ever Night. I could barely put it down! The story just got so much better in this book.

My opinion may’ve been swayed by the fact that Roar had a much bigger part this time around. He was easily my favorite character from the first novel and that hasn’t changed in the sequel. He’s awesome and I wanted him to be on every page of the story. What I loved most though, and what I think sets this series apart from other YA dystopians, is Aria and Roar’s relationship. Easily the most compelling and one of the deepest ones in the story, I can’t express how much I freaking LOVE that their relationship is totally platonic. They’re loyal to each other, care about each other, and protect each other without there being any romantic feelings. It’s amazing and something I rarely see in YA these days. Most YA has boy/girl relationships turn romantic at some point, with one person pining over the other or involved in some sort of love triangle. Not here. Roar and Aria are best friends, and I love that finally someone understands that this kind of relationship can have real, true meaning without a romantic entanglement. Kudos, Veronica Rossi. Kudos.

I liked Aria and Perry’s relationship so much more in this book, too. Aria and Perry are growing into their own: Aria as an Aud and Perry as Blood Lord. I really liked how they could do this independently of each other. They love each other but aren’t completely clouded by their love. They both can still do what’s necessary and right, even if it means missing each other.

The story lines all develop nicely in this book. There’s more about the Still Blue, the elusive land where it’s rumored there are no Aether storms. We also find out about what happened to Liv. I won’t give away her story, but I think that how it’s left in this book will turn out not to be permanent. Just a hunch. We also learn more about the fate of Reverie, Aria’s old Pod, and a character returns that I wasn’t expecting to see again, a character who’s given more depth in this book.

Overall impression:
Through the Ever Night was so much better than the first book in this series. Now I’m completely hooked and need the next book RIGHT NOW.

Rating:
8 – deserving of a re-read – Fred Weasley

fred

9 thoughts on “Book Review: Through the Ever Night by Veronica Rossi

  1. While I did love Under the Never Sky, it was pretty slow at first and took me a while to get into it too. But I did devour Through the Ever Night! I don’t know exactly what it was about it that captured me, but it completely did! Great review!

Leave a Reply

