When Side Characters Steal Your Heart

I’ve made it no secret that I ship hard when it comes to relationships in YA books. I can’t help but pick a team and root for some hot boy with a crooked smile or princely charm. But sometimes, it’s not the main squeeze who catches my attention and keeps me reading. Sometimes the sidekick or the best friend is way more interesting than whoever the protagonist is pining for. These side characters pull at your heartstrings, make you laugh and sigh, and just all-around deserve a good helping of love.

Screen Shot 2013-04-27 at 8.22.58 PM

Roar’s smile widened. “I know. You missed me.”
She rolled her eyes. “It’s barely been three weeks since I last saw you.”
“Miserable stretch of time,” he said.

In both of my reviews for Under the Never Sky and Through the Ever Night, I spent most of the time waxing poetic about how awesome Roar is. Because seriously…he’s the best. I love Perry’s berries, but if I had to choose between the two, I would choose Roar every single time. He’s loyal and funny and deadly and romantic and just…sa-woon. Roar completely stole the show for me when reading this series. I honestly just want the whole story to be about him.

Screen Shot 2013-04-27 at 8.35.38 PM

“That man is moody as hell.”
“I am not moody-”
“Yeah, bro.” Kenji puts his utensils down. “You are moody. It’s always ‘Shut up, Kenji.’ ‘Go to sleep, Kenji.’ ‘No one wants to see you naked, Kenji.’ When I know for a fact that there are thousands of people who would love to see me naked-“

At first I thought Kenji was just there for comic relief since everyone else is so melodramatic and serious in that series. But even as comic relief, Kenji quickly grew on me. His swagger is hilarious. Ain’t nothing wrong with a guy who knows he’s hot. It turns out Kenji’s not just fun and hot, though. He’s a fighter, someone who works for what he believes in and doesn’t take his power for granted. He’s a loyal friend and soldier, a key to the rebellion’s success.

Let’s chat! Are there any side characters who you fell in love with? Characters who may not have the spotlight, but who make the story better?

2 thoughts on “When Side Characters Steal Your Heart

  1. Pretty sure I loved Roar and Kenji much more than Perry and Adam. I mean, I’m totally into swoony guys, but give me an over-confident, funny, teasing side-kick any day of the week! 🙂

Leave a Reply

