Top Ten Tuesday: Top Ten Books Dealing With Tough Subjects

Top Ten Tuesday is a weekly meme hosted by The Broke and the Bookish where each week we get a new topic for a top ten list. The best part of books is that we’re given stories that really explore all aspects of humanity, even the darker sides. I really admire authors who take a chance and tackle subjects that maybe don’t get the attention they deserve or are topics that are really difficult to talk about. Here are ten books that deal with tough subjects.

Screen Shot 2013-03-16 at 10.41.59 PM

Rape/Abuse/Assault

         

Death

   

War

      

21 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday: Top Ten Books Dealing With Tough Subjects

  1. Oh my gosh,you list is amazing!!! I have a few similar ones and I’m kicking myself for not including Code Name Verity. AND I CAN’T BELIEVE I FORGOT PERKS OF BEING A WALLFLOWER! ARG! Love all the books on your list, I’ve actually read almost ALL of them! You have excellent taste! 🙂

  2. Lots of great picks on your list! I really need to read The Book Thief. It’s one of those books I keep meaning to read but just never seem to get to.

  3. Ahh, Just Listen. That is one of my all-time favorite books. I met Dessen a month or so ago and got to tell her how much it meant to be which was a really awesome experience. Speak is also up there in my list of favorites as it was a book that really helped me through high school.

  4. SPEAK and CODE NAME VERITY made my list, too. Love that this week is really showing us the wide range of what a ‘tough issue’ means for bloggers from all over. It’s very cool, and very personal. Thanks for sharing your picks!

    If you’d like, you can check out my list here.

Leave a Reply

