Book Review: Unearthly by Cynthia Hand

Title – Author: Unearthly – Cynthia Hand
Publisher: HarperTeen
Release Date: January 4, 2011
Series/Standalone: Series – Unearthly #1
Format – Source: Hardcover – Borrowed

Clara Gardner is part angel. This means she’s faster and stronger than humans and most things come easily to her. It also means she has a purpose, a distinct reason she was born. All Clara knows about her purpose is a vague vision of a boy standing in the woods, surrounded by flames. As more of the vision is revealed, she and her family are led to a small town in Wyoming. At school, she meets the boy of her dreams: Christian. Her purpose is falling into place. But while Clara is supposed to be focusing on Christian, she finds herself also drawn to Tucker, who makes her feel like a normal teenager. Her vision will come to pass soon and Clara has to be ready to face her destiny.

Screen Shot 2013-05-17 at 11.56.49 PM

I’ll be honest…I didn’t think I would like this book. Rave reviews from my book club girls had me reconsidering and agreeing to borrow the series. The paranormal scene isn’t really my thing. I think I’ve only read one angel book before, and I don’t even remember which one because it wasn’t that good. Suffice it to say, my expectations were pretty low.

Which goes to show that I should shut my mouth and give things a try, because I’m now totally addicted to this series. I spent all day reading Unearthly. I couldn’t put it down. What I found most interesting was that, despite the angel lore, this really read as a contemporary novel. Clara is very much a teenage girl. She can be self-centered, rash, and overly concerned with the little things. She gets embarrassed around cute guys. I just felt that Clara was real, like someone I would’ve known in high school. Even though she’s supernaturally good at basically everything, she still has doubts and fears.

The angel stuff I found to be really interesting. They have all these different powers and there are different kinds of part-angels. Also the Black Wings were creepy as hell! So scary. My heart was racing during one scene towards the end. I can tell that there’s so much more to this world and there’s a lot that Clara doesn’t know. I’m really hoping it gets explored further in the next two books, because I want to know everything.

Of course, I can’t talk about this book without mentioning the two super hot guys. We get to know Tucker best in this book. And guess what? No insta-love! Clara and Tucker develop feelings for each other by actually spending time together. GASP. That said, I feel like I’m leaning towards Team Christian. Besides the fact that I’m just not into cowboys (Tucker actually wears cowboy boots. Like…in public.), Christian is the guy I would’ve been desperately and pathetically in love with in high school. He’s smoking hot, y’all. Also there’s obviously way more to him than we know, considering the ending. I usually hate love triangles, but this one didn’t annoy me at all because Clara wasn’t all back and forth, who do I choose, whine whine whine about it. She makes a clear choice in this book, and I’m curious to see how the author complicates things further in the next one.

Screen Shot 2013-05-17 at 11.56.59 PM

Unearthly was an addictive read that I couldn’t put down until I found out exactly what happened. I’m totally going to binge-read this series.

Screen Shot 2013-05-17 at 11.57.09 PM
7 – really good but missing a little something – George Weasley

george

8 thoughts on “Book Review: Unearthly by Cynthia Hand

  1. I’m the same about this book… I really wasn’t expecting to love it as much as I did! While I did love Tucker in it – despite the cowboy stuff – Christian kind of sat in the back of my mind, all hot and wonderful. Glad you took a chance on this one and enjoyed it!

Leave a Reply

