Top Ten Tuesday: Top Ten Favorite Book Villains

Top Ten Tuesday is a weekly meme hosted by The Broke and the Bookish where each week we get a new topic for a top ten list. This week is a freebie week, so I did my completely unoriginal way of choosing a topic: picking one of the past ones. I’ve had villains on the mind since I saw Star Trek Into Darkness last week and got all hot and bothered about how sexy Benedict Cumberbatch was killing people and blowing shit up. Then again, his appeal might not have been in his villainy  but in his Benedict Cumberbatchery because let’s be honest…there’s no situation where I’m not in love with him.

What was I talking about again? Oh right, villains. Here are ten of my favorite book villains.

Screen Shot 2013-03-16 at 10.41.59 PM

Screen Shot 2013-05-26 at 1.15.35 AM

Screen Shot 2013-05-26 at 1.26.18 AM

Screen Shot 2013-05-26 at 1.35.55 AM

Screen Shot 2013-05-26 at 1.43.57 AM

Screen Shot 2013-05-26 at 1.57.39 AM

Screen Shot 2013-05-27 at 8.23.36 PM

Screen Shot 2013-05-27 at 8.37.32 PM

Screen Shot 2013-05-27 at 9.38.36 PM

Screen Shot 2013-05-27 at 9.41.47 PM

Screen Shot 2013-05-27 at 10.02.49 PM

22 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday: Top Ten Favorite Book Villains

  1. I like ALL of these villains, but HUGE SHOUT OUT to Mrs. Coulter. LOVE that series. I really think I’m due for a re-read.

  2. Very artsy presentation of your villians. I am always jealous when other bloggers figure out such cool ways to present their ideas. The white on black quotes are very cool.

  3. Wow you picked some really great villains. I do love Voldemort and Saruman and Sauron from LOTR. They were all very well developed villains. What I loved most about the Voldemort character is that readers got his history and back story…just good stuff.

  4. This is a cool list! President Snow breaks my heart all the time. I feel like someone with such a fluffy name (I suppose others would say “cold”) and such a sweet old appearance would be nice and gentle. But he’s not. So confusing!
    Happy TTT 🙂

  5. Oh man, Mrs. Coulter and The Mayor make my skin crawl just thinking about them! Totally scary/terrible villains! I actually LOVED President Snow… He was so complex and conniving and calculating… the scariest bad guy of all!

  6. Haha! I agree on Benedict Cumberbatch. He’s totally amazing. And that pic with the boyfriend material!! That’s great.

    You’ve got some great villians here. Definitely Voldemort, although I would also include Bellatrix and Dolores Umbridge. OOoo, and Mrs. Coulter. What she did to the kids and their daimons (is that the spelling? It’s been a while since I read the books).

    Great list!!

  7. First things first: Benedict Cumberbatch…um, yes please. I’m still hot and bothered about him in Star Trek and I saw it two weeks ago. All I can say is that no matter how bad he got I would not freeze him and put him in a case. Also, great list of villains!

Leave a Reply

