Book Review: Throne of Glass by Sarah J. Maas

Title – Author: Throne of Glass – Sarah J. Maas
Publisher: Bloomsbury USA Childrens
Release Date: May 7, 2013
Series/Standalone: Series – Throne of Glass #1
Format – Source: Paperback – Bought

Celaena Sardothien is the world’s most infamous assassin. Betrayed and condemned to a lifetime in the brutal salt mines of Endovier, Celaena doesn’t have much hope of living for more than mere months. That changes when the Crown Prince shows up and offers her a way to freedom: perform as his Champion in a contest against twenty-three other ruthless killers. Win and become King’s Champion and she can have her freedom in four years. Lose, and she’ll be sent back to Endovier and certain death. Celaena accepts and travels with the Prince and the Captain of the Guard to the capitol city…only to discover that something evil lurking in the castle is eliminating her competition and leaving the gruesome remains behind. Celaena now has to fight for more than just her freedom.

Screen Shot 2013-05-17 at 11.56.49 PM

I can’t believe I hadn’t picked up this book before. I very recently added it to my Goodreads TBR shelf when someone mentioned it on Twitter and then bought it on a whim when I saw it in Barnes and Noble. Throne of Glass is such a me book, and now I have another series to obsess over.

The characters are what sealed the fate of this book as one of my favorites. I can’t get enough of Celaena. Clever, witty, vain, and deadly, Celaena is a girl of incredible strength. She doesn’t let the salt mines and the terrible cruelty of her overseers break her. She doesn’t let her tragic past and tough assassin training beat her down. She never stops fighting. I loved how complex of a character she was, going from boasts about her skills to moments of vulnerability when the walls she’s built in her mind to hide her past falter.

And the men! Sa-woon. There’s Dorian, the prince who wants to be a better man than his father, and Chaol, the Captain who takes his post very seriously. I’m just as tired of the love triangle thing as everyone else, but this isn’t your average love triangle. There’s a slow build of emotion on both sides. No insta-love or woe is me why do these two handsome men like meeee from Celaena. I just loved seeing Dorian and Chaol slowly realizing they care for this assassin, impossible as it may seem. Usually I pick a team right away, but I love both men so much that I can’t choose.

The world-building is top-notch, too. Adarlan has conquered the surrounding countries and the king (Dorian’s father) rules with an iron fist. There are a lot of complicated politics going on. Another character I loved was Nehemia, a princess from the neighboring country, Eyllwe. Relations between her and Adarlan’s court are complicated and I loved how she has just as many secrets as Celaena.

Screen Shot 2013-05-17 at 11.56.59 PM

Throne of Glass is an excellent fantasy novel, with wonderfully complex characters and intriguing plots.

Screen Shot 2013-05-17 at 11.57.09 PM
8 – deserving of a re-read – Fred Weasley

fred

7 thoughts on “Book Review: Throne of Glass by Sarah J. Maas

  1. I’m so glad you love this one! It was one of my favorites of last year. I’m still waiting – insanely impatiently – for Crown of Midnight to come in for me at the library. I’m in 11th place. Not that I check every day or anything…

    P.S. Totally Team Chaol. I’ll be interested to see if you choose after Crown of Midnight! 🙂

Leave a Reply

