Top Ten Tuesday: Top Ten Most Intimidating Books

Top Ten Tuesday is a weekly meme hosted by The Broke and the Bookish where each week we get a new topic for a top ten list. Books can be intimidating sometimes. Size, emotional topics, the hype machine…there are many things that can make you wary of picking up that book. Here are ten books/series that intimidate me.

Screen Shot 2013-03-16 at 10.41.59 PM

 

Screen Shot 2013-07-01 at 1.57.16 PM

 

1. Game of Thrones, George R.R. Martin. Ever since I started the show, I’ve been meaning to read the books. I even bought the first four. But I just can’t bring myself to pick them up. I love the show. It’s one of my favorites on tv right now. And therein lies my problem. I’m the type of person who gets really pissed off when things from books are changed in movies. I get it, no adaptation can be exact, but I don’t have to like that fact. I’m especially bad when it comes to the Harry Potter series (I love the movies, but they can’t hold a candle to the books. I spend a lot of my time complaining about new Dumbledore because seriously there is no universe where Dumbledore would push a student into a table ughhhh). So basically I just don’t feel like dealing with the stress of noticing every difference from the books in a tv show that I’m really enjoying right now.

2. Vampire Academy, Richelle Mead. You can’t be friends with Book Rock Betty without her waxing poetic about how awesome this series is. I have the first book, but I’m afraid to start because it doesn’t sound like a me series. I’ve seen on Twitter that Betty’s converted a lot of bloggers over to the Vampire Academy fanwagon, so maybe it’s time to put aside my fear and just try it already.

3. Reflections: On the Magic of Writing, Diana Wynne Jones. Never have I reacted so emotionally to the death of someone I don’t even know. But DWJ is my favorite author, and I love her books so much. I want to read this collection of her writings so badly, but I know it’s going to make me really emotional so I’ve been putting it off.

4. The Name of the Wind, Patrick Rothfuss. I’ve been told that I’ll love this series, but these are some chunky books so I don’t know when I’ll have the time to start.

5. Gone, Michael Grant. I’ve heard this is one of the best apocalyptic YA series on the market. I have a feeling I’m going to want to binge read the entire thing, so it’s all about finding the time for me to read six long books back to back.

6. The Cydonian Pyramid, Pete Hautman. I really enjoyed The Obsidian Blade, so I’m not sure why I’ve put off reading this one. I guess because it’s some of the same story retold through another character’s perspective. For some reason, this makes me unsure about how much I’ll like book.

7. Froi of the Exiles, Melina Marchetta. Finnikin of the Rock is excellent fantasy and right up my alley. I think I’m intimidated to continue because 1) I don’t want to be let down and 2) I didn’t really like Froi in the first book.

8. Attachments, Rainbow Rowell. I loved Eleanor & Park so of course I want to read more of Rowell’s books. This is another case of worrying that it won’t be as good and that I won’t love it as much.

9. Son of the Shadows, Juliet Marillier. I loved Daughter of the Forest, but in this series, the next book is about the daughter of the first book’s main character. While I’m sure it’s excellent, I’m having a hard time letting go of my love for the first book’s main character.

10. Wild Awake, Hilary T. Smith. I’ve seen so many raving reviews of this one, but it doesn’t sound like a me book. I know, I know, I should step out of my comfort zone a bit more.

 

26 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday: Top Ten Most Intimidating Books

  1. I am one of Betty’s converts to the Vampire Academy and I loved it! I also LOVED Attachments and probably like it better than Eleanor and Park but I know I’m the minority in that! Try em!!! I loved them! 🙂

  2. Game of Thrones is on my list too. I started Vampire Academy but haven’t continued with the rest of the series yet. I think it’s because I expected to like it a hell of a lot more than I did!

  3. A Game Of Thrones is on my list, too – no matter how many times I tell myself I’m going to read it, I never do. I’ve read the first two books in the VA series and so far I’ve enjoyed them. I don’t think they’re incredible or anything but they’re good if you’re looking for entertainment. 🙂 Nice choices.

  4. GoT adaptations was pretty good in series one and three but for season two I was really mad. But it’s still an amazing show and I adore the books, so I am just glad both exist, I got over it.
    And as for VA: amazing series. After Twilight I wasn’t sure I want to read more vamp books but VA is so so good I loved it all.

    My TTT
    My DESIGNS blog

  5. Honestly, I read Wild Awake and I didn’t see what the hype was about. It was just okay to me. And Gone frightens me. I read the first one and I don’t think I can commit to 5 more. It is just too much in the same world.

    My TTT List

  6. HELL YES VAMPIRE ACADEMY! You and I need to have a coffee date JUST so I can give you a baker’s dozen worth of reasons to read it. Well, I can do that now.

    1. DIMITRI BELIKOV- you will not find a more swoonworthy man in ANY book- other than maybe Will Herondale in Clockwork!
    2. Rose kicks ALL THE ASS. She is a warrior and I know you love that.
    3. The world is amazing. You WILL fall in love with it.
    4. Adrian Ivashkov- another hottie with a body, plus a sarcastic mouth to boot!
    5. Richelle Mead knows the perfect balance of action, romance and world building!
    6. Action- you love violence- this book brings some epic battles!
    7. Major twists and hardcore turns- you will be shocked and you will not put these books down until you hit the last page!
    8. Tension- Rose & Dimitri take the cake on sexual tension!
    9. Your heart will break because you’ll be so freaking connected to these characters.
    10. I promise the romance isn’t overkill. TONS of other plot points.
    11. These are the BEST vampires I’ve ever read– and they DO NOT sparkle.
    12. Bites on the next can be sexy. (Just ask Rose & Adrian) 😉 😉
    13. My converts speak the truth! hahaha

    So… ya gunna read it???? 🙂 🙂 🙂

  7. DUDE. let me explain. I’m only up to book three. But I HATE VAMPIRES. HAAAAAATE. but this book breaks the rules cuz rose is awesome and dimitri is HOTTTT. just give it a go. I can almost promise you won’t regret it. And BONUS.

    If you do… We will egg Betty’s car. Fair?!

  8. I was forced to come here… no, I came here myself to convince you to read Vampire Academy, but I saw Betty’s list and I have nothing to add to that. Also, you have been convinced already. But anyway, you HAVE to read it. It’s amazing. It’s fun. It’s so so so good. It has (probably) my favorite YA couple of all time. All the characters are awesome. Your heart will break at the end of the third book. You will cry because it’s so awesome. So… that. 😀

    Also, I didn’t like Gone. I’m probably the only one, but I thought it was too long-winded and boring, though the concept was awesome.

  9. I CANNOT WAIT to hear your thoughts on the Gone series if you ever read it. I’ve only read the first three or four, but it was definitely one of the better apocalyptic series I have read. You will definitely want to binge read them. I had to wait between every book and it was tortureeee.

  10. Great list. I agree with Games of Thrones. The show is great for me.
    I tried reading the Vampire Academy but sadly I did not like it.
    Gone is a series that intimidates me too

  11. Oh man, I totally should have included Vampire Academy. I’ve heard Book Rock Betty say how much she loves VA. I definitely need to give that one a try. I have read Attachments, though, and although I love E&P more, Attachments is still excellent. Give it a try. It’s different from E&P but still really good.

  12. Ooh, I would definitely support your decision to read the VA series! They are so amazing. And totally not intimidating. I wasn’t big on paranormal when I read them, either. In fact, I once picked up the first one and put it right back down after the first page. But then I tried again a few months later, saying I would read the whole chapter and see what happened. A week later, I was done with the series, wondering where those 7 days had gone, because I was TOTALLY sucked into the VA world. And I loved it. 😀 But anyway. All that to say that you should give them a try! And it’s not the end of the world if you don’t like them. 🙂

    I’m totally with you on A Song of Ice and Fire series, though. I’ve wanted to read those books for…about 6 or 7 years now. They are totally huge and intimidating. But at the same time, related to your series addiction post, really what I’m waiting for is for the series to be complete. Which I know won’t happen for probably at least another couple years. So I’m sure I’ll cave and read them eventually. BUT. I don’t want to put in the huge amount of time it’s going to take me to get through them…only to not have the end available. But I also want to read them nowwww and not in two or three or five years. It’s a conundrum.

Leave a Reply

