The TBR Book Jar

So I was cruising Tumblr as I do and I came across a post about making a TBR jar for all the books that the person needed to read. Instantly a bell went off in my head. I have SO MANY books that I’ve bought and haven’t touched since. I knew it was time to get started on those and what better way than to get a little crafty? (Yes, I consider writing on pieces of paper crafty. This ain’t an art show!)

So here’s what I used:

Screen Shot 2013-07-07 at 6.55.34 PM

 

  • construction paper  (so colorful!)
  • scissors
  • pen
  • small clear jar

I cut strips of construction paper, folded them in half, and cut them again. Once I had my pieces of paper, I chose the books that are on my TBR shelf and wrote down the titles. Then I folded the strips much smaller so all of them would fit in the jar.

Screen Shot 2013-07-07 at 6.55.49 PM

 

Then I dropped them in and shook it up a bit. Below you can see some of the titles that made it into the jar!

Screen Shot 2013-07-07 at 6.55.58 PM

 

So this is how I’m going to choose what to read next for a little while. I might deviate sometimes like when I have to read for book club or when I want to re-read or something exciting comes out and I have to read it right that second. I’m ridiculously excited about doing this, though, because recently I’ve been plagued by a case of indecision when it comes to what I want to read. I just don’t know what I feel like doing! Now the decision rests in the hands of fate.

10 thoughts on “The TBR Book Jar

  1. Ohh, that’s such a brilliant idea! I love it! That would be perfect for those moods when I’m not quite sure what I want to read next.

  2. I love this so much. I mostly have a mental order I have to read things in – y’know, library books, BEA ARCs… but I think sometime soon I’ll probably be able to do something like this for ALL OF THE BOOKS sitting on my bookshelf. Besides, a glass jar with colorful pieces of paper in it to decorate my bookshelf? Yeah. Stunning. Perfect, even.

Leave a Reply

