Top Ten Tuesday: Top Ten Authors Who Deserve More Recognition

Top Ten Tuesday is a weekly meme hosted by The Broke and the Bookish where each week we get a new topic for a top ten list. I love spreading the love for my favorite authors, whether they’re NYT bestselling, debut, or under-appreciated authors. Something I’ve noticed since joining the blogging community is that a lot of the time, bloggers are reading and talking about the same books. That’s why I’m super excited for this week’s topic. I can’t wait to see what favorite authors have been hiding amongst all the commonly discussed works, especially since I’m very guilty of only reading popular books. Here are ten authors whose books you should definitely add to your Goodreads shelves.

Screen Shot 2013-03-16 at 10.41.59 PM

Screen Shot 2013-07-15 at 10.28.29 PM

1. Megan Whalen Turner. The Queen’s Thief series deserves every recognition ever. It’s mind-blowingly awesome and I can’t wait for the rest of the books.

2. Kate Elliott. The Spiritwalker trilogy is amazing (I need to pick up book 3 ASAP). This author combines incredible world-building with kickbutt girl power and a romance to die for.

3. Rachel Neumeier. This author (like most of this list) writes beautiful fantasy.

4. Shannon Hale. Her lyrical prose is so lovely and perfect for her fairytale-like stories.

5. Frances Hardinge. She might be one of the most under-appreciated fantasy writers I’ve ever read, which makes me so mad because her books are brilliant. I don’t often compare writers to my all-time favorite, Diana Wynne Jones, but she honestly comes very close.

6. Sharon Shinn. I can’t even count how many times I’ve read Summers of Castle Auburn. The romance in that standalone fantasy book is one of my favorites.

7. N.K. Jemisin. Everyone should be talking about her books. She excels at creating diverse characters and incredible worlds.

8. Anne Ursu. Breadcrumbs was a beautiful story and more people should read it.

9. Josin L. McQuein. I feel like Arclight made a lot of anticipatory lists, but once it came out, no one mentioned it. I loved it. I thought it was different and intense and I’m excited to see where the series goes.

10. Sarah Strohmeyer. How Zoe Made Her Dreams (Mostly) Come True was the perfect light, fun, silly read. This is another one that I feel like no one ever talks about!

8 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday: Top Ten Authors Who Deserve More Recognition

  1. I do like Shannon Hale’s Austenland series. I can wait for the movie version to come out later this year. The trailer just released, I don’t know if you’ve seen it yet (or are interested in seeing it), but it’s on youtube.

  2. Oh, I am right there with you on Kate Elliott and Sharon Shinn. I luuuuurve their books. And do you know, I’ve never read Hardinge (well, except for one short story)? Clearly a gap in my education. What book do you recommend I start with?

    Thanks for sharing your list – it’s awesome!

  3. Randomly stumbled on this list via Pinterest and it makes me so happy to see someone else that loves Summers at Castle Auburn! One of my all time favorites that I have read a few times! Whenever I mention it to someone they kinda give a blank stare…

    1. Ahhh I’m so happy you found my blog! I LOVE Summers at Castle Auburn! I’ve reread it so many times. It definitely has one of my favorite romances. But you’re totally right…no one has heard of it. I want more people to read it so I have people to gush about it with!

Leave a Reply

