Bookish Confession #1: I’m OCD About My Books

Recently April from Good Books and Good Wine came up with a super fun blogging challenge. I really wanted to participate, but I got lazy. I loved how the first day was all about bookish confessions, so I decided to do a mini-series on my blog about my own bookish confessions. I have a lot of quirks when it comes to books and reading and I thought it would be fun to share with all of you! And by fun, I mean slightly humiliating because I’m about to let the crazy out.

Screen Shot 2013-07-18 at 5.06.36 PM

When it comes to my books, I’m a bit obsessive. And by “a bit,” I mean if you cross me, I will cut you. I try to keep my books in as perfect condition as possible. I already described how this starts for me at the bookstore. When I read a new hardcover, I open it so cautiously that sometimes I can barely see the page because I don’t want to crack the spine. I have to turn it around in my hands. I try not to take my books anywhere because I don’t want them to get messed up. I obsess over every little mark and crease.

Knowing this, you would think that I would never lend out books. That’s not the case at all! I love sharing books; I just have to know you for years before I’ll do it. The second a book leaves my hands, I get all kinds of anxious about the condition it will be returned in. So basically, I have to trust you with my life before I let you handle my books. I still remember one time I lent out my copy of Twilight to a friend in high school. She kept it for months because she was a slower reader, which was fine. But what wasn’t ok was that when she returned it, she had obviously been carrying it around because there was dirt on the edges and the black of the cover had been rubbed off all over the place. It looked terrible basically. Thank god a friend gave me a hardcover as a gift years later so I could stop looking at my ruined copy. Then there was the time I lent a bunch of books to one of my college friends and she LENT THEM OUT TO OTHER PEOPLE. I nearly died.

Also, I need matched sets. I hate that I have series where one book is paperback and the others are hardcovers. I also hate that I have books where the covers changed mid-series. If I wasn’t dirt-poor right now, I would be buying replacement copies so all my books matched. One day, poppet. One day.

9 thoughts on “Bookish Confession #1: I’m OCD About My Books

  1. Ha! Love this! I like to think I’m NOT crazy about sharing books, but after loaning a book to a friend recently, I realized that maybe I’m a tad bit crazy about these things. Love these bookish confessions and looking forward to more! 🙂

Leave a Reply

