Bookish Confession #2: I Need Good Writing

Ready for my next bookish confession? You can find links to previous posts in this mini-series below!

Screen Shot 2013-07-18 at 5.06.36 PM

 

One of my best friends once said to me, “If the story’s there, I’ll read it.” She doesn’t care about writing style or anything like that. I’m the complete opposite. The characters and plot might be super exciting, but if the writing’s bad, I’m not interested. Sometimes I really don’t understand why some books get published. I just think that if you’re going to sell a book, it should be well-written. But then I look at some of the bestsellers, ones that a ton of bloggers love but that I thought were crap, and I get it. Not every reader is as picky as me.

Past Bookish Confessions

1. I’m OCD About My Books

9 thoughts on “Bookish Confession #2: I Need Good Writing

  1. I totally agree with you! I’ve read some books that had everything in their advantage, great story and characters, but the writing was just awful. This just makes the book a pain to read and you can’t really get into it anymore. A good writing style is every bit as important as the story itself.

  2. I think there has to be a good balance for me. Like, if the story is totally enthralling but maybe it’s not the BEST writing, I’ll read it. But if the writing is cheesy or just plain awful, it doesn’t matter how good the story is or how interested I am in the plot, I get way too distracted. Sometimes I do wonder how certain books get published too… maybe I’m being snobby, but if I, someone who hasn’t had any grammar classes since 10th grade (we started doing more literature in 11th), can tell it’s bad, shouldn’t someone who professionally looks at grammar be able to tell the writing is no good?

Leave a Reply

