Book Review: Crown of Midnight by Sarah J. Maas

Title – Author: Crown of Midnight – Sarah J. Maas
Publisher: Bloomsbury USA Childrens
Release Date: August 27, 2013
Series/Standalone: Series – Throne of Glass #2
Format – Source: e-ARC – Publisher via NetGalley

Celaena Sardothien won the fierce competition; she’s now the King’s Champion. Her loyalty, however, doesn’t lie with the brutal king. Keeping the secret of her disobedience becomes harder every day, especially since her newest target is someone she knows. Her actions put everyone she loves in danger. When tragedy strikes, her secrets and the secrets of her closest companions explode in terrifying ways. Celaena must soon make a choice about where her loyalties lie and what she’s going to do about the world that has gone so wrong.

Screen Shot 2013-05-17 at 11.56.49 PM

I thought Throne of Glass was amazing. How could it possibly be topped? Well, it totally was in Crown of Midnight. Holy hell, I’m still reeling from all the feels. I just have so much emotion about this book, you guys.

So I know I said it my review of the first book that I couldn’t choose between Dorian and Chaol. HAH I was lying to myself. I love Chaol like Celaena did: unknowingly at first and then headlong into the kind of swoony relationship every girl dreams of. Their relationship in this story made my heart burst from swelling so much and then my heart mended only to be torn completely apart by one of the most heart-wrenching scenes ever.

It’s not all romance, though. The action is amped up and crazy tense. Celaena is now officially King’s Champion, but all is not as it seems in regards to how she’s completing her tasks. We get to see Celaena unleashed and she is terrifying and badass. Then there are the million mysteries she has to solve before something terrible happens to their world. And of course no one is giving straight answers anywhere.

And now I just have to say this one thing: I SO CALLED THAT ENDING LIKE PRACTICALLY FROM THE FIRST PAGE OF THRONE OF GLASS AND WHEN IT WAS FINALLY REVEALED I LAUGHED LIKE A LOON AND THEN CRIED A LITTLE BECAUSE WHAT WILL CHAOL DOOOOOOO?!?!

Screen Shot 2013-05-17 at 11.56.59 PM

Crown of Midnight is an emotional roller coaster from start to finish. Fans won’t be disappointed. YOU WILL FEEL ALL THE FEELS.

Screen Shot 2013-05-17 at 11.57.09 PM
9 – seriously great – Sirius Black

42845383_oldman_416

4 thoughts on “Book Review: Crown of Midnight by Sarah J. Maas

Leave a Reply

