Book Review: Lola and the Boy Next Door by Stephanie Perkins

Title – Author: Lola and the Boy Next Door – Stephanie Perkins
Publisher: Speak
Release Date: July 9, 2013
Series/Standalone: Series – Anna and the French Kiss #2
Format – Source: Paperback – Won from the author via Twitter

Lola Nolan loves to dress up: the crazier the costume, the better. All Lola wants is to wear the perfect costume to her prom and to have her strict dads finally approve of her hot rock star boyfriend. Her life is going perfectly until the Bell twins, Calliope and Cricket, move back in next door. Now Lola has to confront feelings she’s been trying to forget for years as the boy next door steps back into her life.

Screen Shot 2013-05-17 at 11.56.49 PMI went crazy for Anna and the French KissI loved it so much. With Lola, Stephanie Perkins has thoroughly solidified herself as one of my favorite contemporary YA authors.

I think I like Lola so much because she’s so different and so unapologetic about it. She wears wigs and crazy fun outfits every day. She knows who she is and isn’t afraid to show it. She’s the kind of person who goes out on Halloween every year with her best friend dressed as each other. She’s creative and passionate about her costumes.

I may love Cricket Bell more than I love Etienne, which is saying something. Brilliant, friendly, and overshadowed by his talented sister, I just wanted to hug him forever. The building tension between Cricket and Lola is intense. You just know they belong together and you want them to stop being idiots and just kiss already. I loved how their talents complemented each other: Cricket builds gizmos and Lola sews amazing costumes.

And we get to see more of Anna and Etienne! Anna works in the same movie theater as Lola. I honestly wasn’t expecting to see them as much as I did, so that was a pleasant surprise! Though I will admit that if I knew a couple like them in real life, I would probably get super annoyed. They’re just so damn cute together all the time!

Screen Shot 2013-05-17 at 11.56.59 PMLola and the Boy Next Door is a charming and romantic follow-up to one of my favorite contemporaries. I can’t wait to see how my favorite couples’ stories wrap up in Isla and the Happily Ever After. 

Screen Shot 2013-05-17 at 11.57.09 PM9 – seriously great – Sirius Black

42845383_oldman_416

5 thoughts on “Book Review: Lola and the Boy Next Door by Stephanie Perkins

Leave a Reply

