Top Ten Tuesday: Top Ten Books I Wish Could Have Had Sequels

Top Ten Tuesday is a weekly meme hosted by The Broke and the Bookish where each week we get a new topic for a top ten list. This week’s topic is super difficult, because I feel like everything I read is part of a series these days! This topic is also difficult because when I read standalones, I usually don’t want a sequel. Here are ten instances where a sequel might be welcome.

Screen Shot 2013-07-23 at 7.09.44 PM

Screen Shot 2013-08-05 at 11.22.36 PM

1. The Merlin Conspiracy, Diana Wynne Jones.  In all honesty, I would love sequels to every single book she’s ever written, even the ones she actually did write sequels to. Sadly, that will never happen. This is the one I want the sequel to the most, though. It’s one of her under appreciated titles. Mainly I want the sequel because I want to see Roddy and Nick’s romance develop because they belong together and they’re pretty young here so I need a story where they’re all aged up and love is in the air.

2. For Darkness Shows the Stars, Diana Peterfreund. The book ends with Kai and Elliot sailing off into the unknown. I want to know about all of their adventures!

3. Abhorsen, Garth Nix. Another one where I want to see where the relationship goes. Lirael and Nick have so much potential. I want to see them develop a closer relationship.

4. Lady Knight, Tamora Pierce. This is the only Pierce series I’ve read where the main character doesn’t end up with someone. That’s actually one of my favorite aspects of the series, but still…Tamora Pierce writes the swooniest romances, so I really want to see Kel with her endgame.

5. The Crown of Dalemark, Diana Wynne Jones. Another DWJ book. I couldn’t help myself. Like I said, I want sequels to all of her books. This series has my favorite setting of all of her worlds. I need to know what happens with Mitt and Maewen! I have a theory of what I want to happen, but I wish I could know the author’s thoughts.

6. Forest Born, Shannon Hale. I love the Books of Bayern series. It started off with a fairytale retelling, and the world just grew with each installment. I loved reading the stories of the side characters from the first novel. This is a world I would love to read more of.

7. Fangirl, Rainbow Rowell. In this case, I wouldn’t want a sequel for the main character, Cath. I like where her story ended. I would want a sequel centered on Reagan or Wren, with cameos of Cath and Levi.

8. Audrey, Wait!, Robin Benway. This one is perfect by itself, but Audrey is a hilarious character and I’m sure she gets into more shenanigans after this story ends.

9. Summers at Castle Auburn, Sharon Shinn. I LOVE the romance in this one, but they don’t get together until the very end so I want another story where I get more time with them together.

10. Monsters of Men, Patrick Ness. For this series, there’s so much more work to be done after the ending. The planet has to heal from the war, and I think there could be some pretty fascinating stories to tell about that time of recovery.

12 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday: Top Ten Books I Wish Could Have Had Sequels

  1. Fangirl and Audrey, Wait! seem to be everywhere! Definitely agree with Audrey, Wait!
    Haven’t read Fangirl yet, but now I think I’m going to have to since it’s appearing on so many lists.

  2. Totally starting Fangirl next, I can’t wait! And Monsters of Men?!?!?! OMG YES!! I didn’t put that on my list but I SHOULD HAVE!! I love that series! And I didn’t put For Darkness Shows the Stars but I totally agree. I did put her new one, Across a Star-Swept Sea which is SO amazing!! Love the list Ellie!: )

  3. Ooo, I agree. When I love standalones, it’s usually partly because I know there’s only one.

    I’ve read, and loved, The Goose Girl, but I haven’t read any other Books of Bayern. Clearly I should get on that. I love Shannon Hale!

Leave a Reply

