Book Review: Miss Peregrine’s Home for Peculiar Children by Ransom Riggs

Title – Author: Miss Peregrine’s Home for Peculiar Children – Ransom Riggs
Publisher: Quirk Books
Release Date: June 4, 2013
Series/Standalone: Series – Miss Peregrine’s #1
Format – Source: Paperback – Bought

After a terrible tragedy, sixteen-year-old Jacob sets off for a remote island to uncover the truth about his grandfather’s past. On the island Jacob discovers the crumbling ruins of Miss Peregrine’s Home for Peculiar Children. The more he explores, the more convinced he becomes that these children were anything but ordinary…and that they might still be alive.

Screen Shot 2013-05-17 at 11.56.49 PM

This book was yet another case of me psyching myself out based on a wrong conclusion. See, I thought this was a creepy book. Like horror creepy, because of all the pictures of weird children (mainly, the clown children because let’s be real here, clowns shouldn’t exist). And that’s really not my thing at all. So I didn’t pick it up for ages, because I just automatically assumed it wasn’t going to be my kind of book. I was totally wrong! Yeah, the pictures are odd, but this is a fantasy story and we all know those are my favorite!

I have to start out by talking about the writing because hot damn, this author can write. I recently confessed that writing style plays a major role in my reading experience. From the first page of Miss Peregrine’s, I was in love with the writing style. It’s just so freaking good. For some reason, I wasn’t expecting the writing to be that good, so I was just overall blown away.

The storytelling aspect of mixing photography and writing wasn’t something I thought I was going to like either. I’m pretty traditional when it comes to books; just words please. But in this case, the photos felt so integral and natural to the story being told that I loved looking at them and connecting them to characters in the book. What the author does here is just smart. I can’t think of any other way to put it. The story and the pictures weave together so completely.

Now on to the actual story. I loved Jacob’s quest to uncover the truth about his grandfather. He faces a lot of internal struggle. There’s the idea that his grandfather might’ve been mad and then there’s the idea that Jacob himself is going mad and seeing things that aren’t there. Jacob encounters things he doesn’t totally understand, but he keeps going, which really speaks to the strength of his relationship with his grandfather. When he finally finds out what’s going on and discovers a world he never could’ve dreamed of, he accepts the role he’s destined to play and takes responsibility.

Screen Shot 2013-05-17 at 11.56.59 PM

Miss Peregrine’s Home for Peculiar Children is a unique story with excellent writing and a fascinating quest story with an ending that makes me so excited for the next novel.

Screen Shot 2013-05-17 at 11.57.09 PM

8 – deserving of a re-read – Fred Weasley

fred

6 thoughts on “Book Review: Miss Peregrine’s Home for Peculiar Children by Ransom Riggs

  1. I am hearing so many wonderful things about this novel. I am a bit wary about the words + pictures layout, but I am willing to give it a try. I think it would be interesting, if nothing else.
    And I totally agree with you about clowns! Whoever thought that people with creepy paint all over their faces was a fun idea, was seriously wrong. Clowns = scary as hell.

    1. You should definitely give it a try! It’s a different way of telling a story, but the photos are so seamlessly included that they don’t detract from the words in any way.

  2. Hooray! I’m glad you enjoyed this one. It’s honestly one of my FAVORITES and I’m really pumped about the sequel coming out! I read this on my Kindle, so the pictures were kind of weirdly formatted… I’d love to re-read this and get to experience it with the pictures!

Leave a Reply

