A to Z Bookish Survey

Jamie from The Perpetual Page-Turner came up with a fun survey idea called the A to Z Bookish Survey. Since I love surveys and I love talking about myself, I decided to join in! You can see her answers and find links to other bloggers’ answers in the comments of this post.

Credit: Jamie from The Perpetual Page-Turner

Author you’ve read the most books from:

Tamora Pierce. Fantasy FTW!

Best Sequel Ever:

The one that most recently blew me away was Crown of Midnight by Sarah J. Maas. Holy OMG/action/romance, Batman!

Currently Reading:

The Lost Kingdom by Matthew J. Kirby.

Drink of Choice While Reading:

Book and a Beverage asked this too and I was boring and said water because that’s pretty much all I drink.

Ereader or Physical Book?

Physical books fo sho, even though I own a Kindle and actually really like it.

Fictional Character You Probably Would Have Actually Dated In High School:

Dave the Laugh from the Georgia Nicolson series. I mean, it’s right there in his name. I’m a sucker for funny guys.

Glad You Gave This Book A Chance:

Unearthly by Cynthia Hand. Not my thing at all, but I ended up really enjoying the series.

Hidden Gem Book:

Breadcrumbs by Anne Ursu. A lovely story about friendship and growing up.

Important Moment in your Reading Life:

Discovering Diana Wynne Jones’s books. Favorite author of all time.

Just Finished:

The Deepest Night by Shana Abe.

Kinds of Books You Won’t Read:

I’ve already listed some topics that make me avoid certain books, but recently I’ve been itching to try different genres. In general, I don’t read paranormal, horror, romance/erotica, or mystery but there are always exceptions to every rule.

Longest Book You’ve Read:

Harry Potter and the Order of the Phoenix (870 pages).

Major book hangover because of:

The Mark of Athena by Rick Riordan. THAT ENDING.

Number of Bookcases You Own:

Currently I’m living at home and don’t have bookshelves of my own, so all my books are either in piles on top of my dressers or stored in boxes. But when I get my own place, I can assure you that the number of bookcases I will have to get will be ridiculous.

One Book You Have Read Multiple Times:

The Truth About Forever by Sarah Dessen. I fall in love with Wes every single time.

Preferred Place To Read:

My bed because I’m lazy and it takes too much effort to sit up.

Quote that inspires you/gives you all the feels from a book you’ve read:

“You’ll stay with me?”

“Until the very end,” said James.

Reading Regret:

My biggest regret is one I really didn’t have any control over: I wish I could’ve met Diana Wynne Jones before she passed away and gotten some of my books signed. They’re already my most prized books, but to have them signed and to have been able to speak with her even for thirty seconds would’ve been the greatest moment of my reading life.

Series You Started And Need To Finish(all books are out in series):

I’m going to agree with Jamie and say the Jessica Darling series too because I honestly can’t think of any other examples (at least, not ones where all the books are out already).

Three of your All-Time Favorite Books:

Howl’s Moving Castle by Diana Wynne Jones, The Truth About Forever by Sarah Dessen, and I Am The Messenger by Markus Zusak.

Unapologetic Fangirl For:

Harry Potter. I’ve worn costumes, waited hours and hours in lines, reread the books a million times, read fanfiction, gone to The Wizarding World, talked about it nonstop…it’s not a fandom, it’s a lifestyle.

Very Excited For This Release More Than All The Others:

It’s a tie between The House of Hades by Rick Riordan (PERCABETH) and Allegiant by Veronica Roth (HOW WILL IT END?!).

Worst Bookish Habit:

Buying new books when I own so many already that are unread…I’m practically drowning in my TBR pile.

X Marks The Spot: Start at the top left of your shelf and pick the 27th book:

Seraphina by Rachel Hartman. Speaking of books I own and haven’t read yet…

Your latest book purchase:

After a really bad night (I had major insomnia and was awake all night before finally falling asleep at 8:30 AM), I treated myself and splurged at Barnes and Noble and got: Something Strange and Deadly by Susan Dennard, All Our Pretty Songs by Sarah McCarry, Tell the Wolves I’m Home by Carol Rifka Brunt, The Age of Miracles by Karen Thompson Walker, and The Night Circus by Erin Morgenstern.

ZZZ-snatcher book (last book that kept you up WAY late):

Fangirl by Rainbow Rowell. I just HAD to read it in one sitting. It’s that good.

3 thoughts on “A to Z Bookish Survey

  1. Fantastic purchases, I’m hoping to read Something Strange and Deadly whilst Susan is running a Readalong with Epic Reads, and The Night Circus is one of my all time favourites.

    I’m glad you enjoyed Fangirl as I want to read that ASAP! I loved Eleanor & Park, Rainbow is an AWESOME writer!

    A-Z Survey

Leave a Reply

