Top Ten Tuesday: Top Ten Books Set In The Future

Top Ten Tuesday is a weekly meme hosted by The Broke and the Bookish where each week we get a new topic for a top ten list. I love books set in the future, even when that future is totally depressing. Here’s a mix of my favorite sci-fi and dystopian reads that take place in a futuristic setting.

Screen Shot 2013-07-23 at 7.09.44 PM

Screen Shot 2013-08-09 at 12.09.58 AM

1. Ender’s Game, Orson Scott Card. My favorite sci-fi novel ever.

Screen Shot 2013-08-09 at 12.14.40 AM

2. The Knife of Never Letting Go, Patrick Ness. So it’s never explicitly mentioned that the planet was settled because Earth had to be abandoned in the future, but that’s how I read it. Regardless, this trilogy is amazing.

Screen Shot 2013-08-09 at 12.14.49 AM

3. The Passage, Justin Cronin. This one starts in the near future and spans a century. Hands down the best apocalyptic/vampire novel I’ve ever read.

Screen Shot 2013-08-09 at 12.14.56 AM

4. For Darkness Shows the Stars, Diana Peterfreund. I can’t wait for the companion novel!

Screen Shot 2013-08-09 at 12.20.57 AM

5. Ship Breaker, Paolo Bacigalupi. One of the most harrowing visions for Earth that I’ve read.

Screen Shot 2013-08-09 at 12.21.03 AM

6. The Hitchhiker’s Guide to the Galaxy, Douglas Adams. Very few books make me actually laugh out loud, but this series did for sure.

Screen Shot 2013-08-09 at 12.21.23 AM

7. Divergent, Veronica Roth. Maybe it’s not the most realistic futuristic society, but I can’t get enough of this series.

Screen Shot 2013-08-09 at 12.21.43 AM

8. The Hunger Games, Suzanne Collins. I could honestly see this happening, and that’s what makes it so terrifying.

Screen Shot 2013-08-09 at 12.22.40 AM

9. The Giver, Lois Lowry. The quintessential dystopian. Fingers crossed they don’t ruin my childhood with the movie.

Screen Shot 2013-08-09 at 12.22.45 AM

10. The Time Machine, H.G. Wells. I haven’t read a book by Wells that I didn’t like. He’s a sci-fi master.

16 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday: Top Ten Books Set In The Future

  1. You have picked a LOT of my favourite books so yay for similar book tastes! Ender’s Game was one of my favourite books as a kid and I’ve read it probably a dozen times. I’m glad For Darkness Shows the Stars is on here, I just bought it recently and if you list is any indication, I think I’ll enjoy it! 🙂

  2. Had I decided to do my list on books set in the future, our lists would have been *very* similar. For Darkness Shows the Stars is one of my all-time favorites.

    Instead, I decided to do my favorite books set in New York City. 🙂

  3. I love The Hunger Games and The Giver (they’re the only ones on your list that I’ve read). But I enjoy dystopians, so I’ll have to read the other ones you’ve listed!

  4. I LOVE Hitchhiker’s Guide to the Galaxy! And Ender’s Game is next on my list, like literally sitting next to me. I have not read an H. G. Wells book yet. Any recommendations on which to read first?

  5. Haha. I think there will be a lot of books set in the future posts today. I’m not really a fan of futuristic books, but I do love Cinder and Scarlet, so I guess there is always an exception.

Leave a Reply

