25 Standalone Books To Read After Series Burnout

A big complaint in YA these days is that everything is a series. I know I’m juggling countless series right now. Sometimes I just need to take a break with a good standalone novel, which is why I created the graphic below. I wanted to share some standalone recommendations for when you too get series burnout. Some are books I personally loved, some have been vetted by trusted book bloggers, and some have been talked about everywhere. I tried to pick a range of genres and included both popular and lesser-known titles, so there’s a book for everyone! Start your Goodreads and get ready to banish that series burnout!

PS. Check out my other Recommendations post, 25 Books for the Fantasy Newbie!

Screen Shot 2013-08-09 at 6.36.27 AM

1. I Am The Messenger, Markus Zusak | Goodreads

2. Guardian of the Dead, Karen Healey | Goodreads

3. Code Name Verity, Elizabeth Wein | Goodreads

4. All Men of Genius, Lev A.C. Rosen | Goodreads

5. A Monster Calls, Patrick Ness | Goodreads

6. Audrey, Wait!, Robin Benway | Goodreads

7. The Lost Girl, Sangu Mandanna | Goodreads

8. The Floating Islands, Rachel Neumeier | Goodreads

9. The Sea of Tranquility, Katja Millay | Goodreads

10. Book of a Thousand Days, Shannon Hale | Goodreads

11. Between Shades of Gray, Ruta Sepetys | Goodreads

12. The Scorpio Races, Maggie Stiefvater | Goodreads

13. Golden, Jessi Kirby | Goodreads

14. Brightly Woven, Alexandra Bracken | Goodreads

15. Breadcrumbs, Anne Ursu | Goodreads

16. What Happens Next, Colleen Clayton | Goodreads

17. Tiger Lily, Jodi Lynn Anderson | Goodreads

18. A Visit from the Goon Squad, Jennifer Egan | Goodreads

19. Speechless, Hannah Harrington | Goodreads

20. The Wicked and the Just, J. Anderson Coats | Goodreads

21. For Darkness Shows the Stars, Diana Peterfreund | Goodreads

22. Eleanor & Park, Rainbow Rowell | Goodreads

23. Amy and Roger’s Epic Detour, Morgan Matson | Goodreads

24. Icefall, Matthew J. Kirby | Goodreads

25. American Gods, Neil Gaiman Goodreads

Do you have any good standalone book recommendations? Leave them in the comments!

47 thoughts on “25 Standalone Books To Read After Series Burnout

  1. Great list! I’ve read quite a few of these, several are on my TBR, and a few more are going to be on there after seeing this. 🙂

    I would also recommend Attachments by Rainbow Rowell, Such a Rush by Jennifer Echols, and The Sky is Everywhere by Jandy Nelson for those suffering from series overload.

  2. Awesome! I really do enjoy series, but sometimes I want a great standalone. I’ll have to print out this list and keep it on hand! Have you read Rose Under Fire or Across a Star Swept Sea (I don’t think they come out until Sept though)? They’re companion novels for Code Name Verity and For Darkness Shows the Stars – something I love! I can’t really think of any great standalones that I’ve read lately, or at least ones that aren’t already on your list!

  3. I love the list! I think I’ve read about 7 of those thus far, and a few are all-time favorites (Code Name Verity, Amy & Roger). I’d recommend Winger by Andrew Smith, Please Ignore Vera Dietz by A.S. King, Words in the Dust by Trent Reedy, Alabama Moon by Watt Key, Graffiti Moon by Cath Crowley, Second Chance Summer by Morgan Matson, My Life Next Door by Huntley Fitzpatrick. Happy reading!

    1. Across a Star-Swept Sea is a companion novel with different characters, so I think both it and FDSTS can be read as standalones. You should definitely read Code Name Verity…it’s one of my all-time favorite novels!

      1. Miss Peregrine’s will actually be part of a series; the next book was supposed to be released sometime in the next year but I am not sure if that is still happening.

  4. John Green has so great standalone books: Papertowns, The Fault in Our Stars, An Abundance of Katherines, and Looking For Alaska; all great stories and even better characters!
    Another author, who is substantially underrated is Pete Hautman. I tell all my bookworms he writes pretty great books, creates interesting worlds, utterly unforgettable characters, and the most out-of-this-world stories. Some of his books include: Godless, Rash, Invisible, Sweet Blood, Mr. Was, Hole in the Sky and All-In-One. Very great stories, amazingly written and imaginatively structured.
    Other titles that are awesome include:
    Survive by Alex Morel
    The Book Thief by Markus Zusak
    Stolen, A Letter to my Captor by Lucy Christopher
    Slam by Nick Hornby
    My Life Next Door by Huntly Fitzpatrick

  5. Looking for Alaska by John Green
    The Perks of Being a Wallflower by Stephen Chbosky
    The Truth About Forever by Sarah Dessen

  6. Zorro by Isabel Allende and Shadow of the wind by Ruiz Safron. Isabel Allende has a trilogy by the way called “Eagle and Jaguar series” it’s a good trilogy and NOT dystopian.

  7. Reblogged this on allthingswordy and commented:
    Be prepared for when your dystopian genre fix runs out…you’ll need this list of standalones to help nurture you back to the real world…

  8. Of all the stand alone novels I have ever read the two that stick out in my mind as works of art are The Last Time I Saw Paris and Water for Elephants.

  9. I would definitely recommend me before you by jojo moyes and my life next door by Huntley Fitzpatrick. There’s a companion book coming out next year for my life next door but still a good standalone.

  10. Truly love that I have found this stand-alone website. Must confess to hating sequel books. Am I among the few people on this planet who want a totally new book each time I read one? Love John Grisham, C J Box, Nicholas Evans, Laura Lippmann, Harlan Coben many others. Of course some of theirs are sequels, but they are such good writers.

    1. All I can say is that you have a whole world of writers out there that FAR surpass everyone you have mentioned. Try some new authors!!

  11. I’m all about a good series, but I experience series burnout sometimes, too! 😉 So thank you for this article! 🙂 I second those who suggested The Night Circus and The Book Thief. They are both GREAT books that are beautifully written. They are hands down the two best standalone books I’ve read!

  12. I would have to say Panic by Lauren Oliver. John Green is always a great suggestion but he has been mentioned several times, someone said Before I Fall (which I’m reading now) but I noticed Panic hasn’t been suggested. Great book! 🙂

  13. I read an article in Smithsonian Magazine about the Salem witch Trials. It was written by Stacy Schiff.
    The article was fascinating. It dealt with how the witch trials came about and whether Tituba was really behind making young women into witches.
    She has written a book called:
    The
    Witches
    Salem, 1692, delving into
    the panic when a minister’s neice began to act out in a strange manner and how it led to so many people being accused of witchcraft by adolescent girls.
    But did this really happen, or was this just something made up? This is what makes up the crux of the book.

  14. I just finished ‘Spinning Starlight’ by RC Lewis. I picked it up as a random book, and couldn’t put it down. It’s a combination of scifi/interplanetary travel and fantasy. Probably fine for ages 11+.

Leave a Reply

