Bookish Confession #5: I Have To Read In Order

Ready for my next bookish confession? You can find links to previous posts in this mini-series below!

Screen Shot 2013-07-18 at 5.06.36 PMI just can’t read out of order. I know some people can pick up a series on the second or third book, but that’s practically sacrilegious to me. I go so far as to need to read companion books in order even though by definition they can be read in any order or by themselves.  If I reread a series, I still start from the beginning despite knowing what happens or knowing that I don’t like some of the books as much as the others in the series (*cough*New Moon*cough*). I can’t even watch tv shows out of order. If I’m going to watch something, I have to start from the beginning. It doesn’t even matter if you don’t really need to do that to understand the plot or the episode.

Past Bookish Confessions

1. I’m OCD About My Books
2. I Need Good Writing
3. I Reread Lines
4. I Randomly Reread My Favorite Parts

6 thoughts on “Bookish Confession #5: I Have To Read In Order

  1. I definitely couldn’t start a series in the middle. I’m the exact same way! Unless of course I pick up a book, read it through and the realize that it was part of a series (and not the first). I’ll claim ignorance for as long as necesary! 🙂
    – Krys

  2. Ohhh my gosh YES. I am exactly the same with books, TV and film! I just can’t do things out of order, it’s like forever having an itch that needs to be scratched!!

Leave a Reply

