Top Ten Tuesday: Top Ten Things That Make Life As A Reader/Blogger Easier

Top Ten Tuesday is a weekly meme hosted by The Broke and the Bookish where each week we get a new topic for a top ten list. There are so many tools available now to make reading and blogging easier. Here are ten that make this blog and my reading life possible.

Screen Shot 2013-07-23 at 7.09.44 PM

Screen Shot 2013-08-14 at 10.46.11 PM

1. Goodreads. Goodreads has changed the way I read completely. I won’t buy a book if it’s not on my TBR shelf. I won’t even consider adding a book to my TBR shelf if the average rating is below a 3.6. On the blogging side, I use it every week to do TTTs. I don’t know how I kept track of what I read before I got Goodreads.

2. WordPress. WordPress makes writing blog posts so easy. I have the free version, which means less customization but that’s okay with me. It gets the job done and you can learn to use it so quickly.

3. Twitter. I get so many book recommendations from seeing what people are tweeting about. It also keeps me up to date on all  the blogging news and drama so I know what to steer clear of or what to pay attention to. But the best part of all is being able to talk/squee with other bloggers and readers.

4. PowerPoint. No joke, I make all of my graphics in PowerPoint. I know guys. I’m super technologically advanced.

5. Kindle. I’m still a physical book kind of girl, but I love my Kindle. I can request e-ARCs to review and there are always deals on Amazon to get popular YA books for super cheap.

6. EpicReads Teatime. I really look forward to TeaTime every week! The TeaTime girls are hilarious. It’s a great way to find out about upcoming Harper releases and you can get reading recommendations from the chat.

7. LibraryThing. I use LibraryThing to catalog the books I own. I have a little USB scanner that’s shaped like a cat that I can just plug in to my laptop, scan a book’s barcode, and it shows up in LibraryThing.

8. Feedly. When Google Reader went bye-bye, I switched to Feedly. So far it works well enough even though I’ve run into problems (some graphics don’t show up for certain blogs, it switches between screens when I don’t want it to).

9. HootSuite. I use HootSuite to schedule all of my blog-related tweets. That way I can make sure my blog posts get tweeted about several times on posting day and I don’t have to be on Twitter 24/7.

10. Google Calendar. I recently started using Google Calendar to lay out when I wanted to schedule posts. It makes it easier for me to keep track of when I want things to go up on the blog. I love that you can create multiple calendars so I don’t have blogging stuff mixed in with other scheduling. And I can put different features in different colors so when I’m looking at the month I can easily pick out when I need to switch things up or when I’ve been posting too much of one thing.

17 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday: Top Ten Things That Make Life As A Reader/Blogger Easier

  1. I have the cat-shaped ISBN scanner, too! I thought it was really cute when I got it, but I now mostly use my iPhone.

    You can make graphics on Power Point? I did not know that!

  2. I definitely need to get Hootsuite! Sounds so much more convenient than having to log in to twitter several times a day. I have that cat-shaped ISBN scanner too! I use BookCollector though, but I might try library thing.
    Here’s our TTT!

  3. I don’t know why I never thought of using ppt for graphics. I am terrible at graphics, and I struggle with image editing all the time, but I could use ppt. I must check it out.

  4. I think Goodreads is going to be a popular choice today! I have no idea how I functioned before Goodreads. And I didn’t include wordpress on my list, but I love that you can create templates for review. Great list!

  5. You can make graphics in powerpoint? I didn’t know that! I love wordpress, too. It’s so easy to create posts, and it’s way easier to comment on other wordpress blogs than blogger blogs!

    And Goodreads! Oh I love that website!

Leave a Reply

