YA Starter Kit

The girls from Epic Reads chose an awesome topic for this week’s TeaTime: YA starter kits. I wasn’t able to make the chat, so I have no idea much discussion went on, but I wanted to share my own YA starter kit anyway! Everyone has their own way of making their reading experience different and fun, so I want to hear from you in the comments!

Screen Shot 2013-08-21 at 5.09.24 PM

So what’s in my YA starter kit?

Favorites for your bookshelf: When you get hooked on YA, you’ll want to buy all of your favorites so you can stand and look at the all the pretties on your bookshelf!

TBR jar: There are so many awesome YA books out there…how will you decide what to read?! Use a TBR jar so you don’t spend hours agonizing over what to read.

Companion: Reading companions are the best! Maybe yours is a favorite cuddly pet or an adorable stuffed animal.

Reading list: There are a million awesome recommendation lists out there, such as my 25 Standalone Books to Read After Series Burnout. These lists can bring books to your attention that you didn’t know about.

YA TV shows: I’m addicted to tv shows and some of my favorites are based on books, both YA and adult. Perfect for when you’re in a reading slump.

Bookmarks: I use all kinds of things for bookmarks: pieces of scrap paper, index cards, receipts…I actually rarely use actual bookmarks. But anything can work! You just need something to hold your place.

Quote journals: Trust me…you’re going to find quotes that you can’t get out of your head. I love having a journal nearby so when I’m blown away by the writing, I can write the quote down immediately so I don’t have to search through the book for it later.

Ships: Shipping is big in the YA world. It can be so much fun to get all flail-y about your favorite couples in YA.

Let’s chat? What do you think of my choices? What would you put in your YA starter kit? Or just a reading kit in general for those who aren’t big readers?

10 thoughts on “YA Starter Kit

Leave a Reply

