Book Review: Vampire Academy by Richelle Mead

Title – Author: Vampire Academy – Richelle Mead
Publisher: Razorbill
Release Date: August 16, 2007
Series/Standalone: Series – Vampire Academy #1
Format – Source: Paperback – Bought

Rose Hathaway is a bodyguard for her best friend Lissa, a Moroi vampire princess. On the run, they’re finally caught and dragged back to St. Vladimir’s, a hidden school for Moroi vampires and their guards. But the school isn’t the safe haven everyone thinks…especially not for Lissa. Rose throws herself into her studies to better protect Lissa, but her gorgeous tutor Dimitri might be a distraction. Rose knows she needs to protect Lissa from the Strigoi, the immortal, savage vampires who thirst for Moroi blood.

Screen Shot 2013-05-17 at 11.56.49 PM

I feel like the first words out of Book Rock Betty‘s mouth when I first met her were “read Vampire Academy.” I’ve resisted as long as I could because vampires aren’t my thing and also the book’s called Vampire Academy. I mean, come on, it sounds ridiculous. I was dismayed to find myself racing through the book and immediately reserving the rest of the series at my library.

Richelle Mead does a good job of making this book compulsively readable. I really couldn’t put it down and read it in one sitting. The world of Dhampir, Moroi, and Strigoi is a different take on vampirism than I’ve read before, so I didn’t get bored with the mythology. There’s a lot of politics involved depending on what you are, and it was interesting to see how the groups interact with each other at the school.

Rose is a character I can root for, too. I loved how dedicated she is to her duty to Lissa. Yes, Lissa is her best friend, but it goes further than that. There’s societal history and a lot of responsibility on Rose’s shoulders. I really appreciated how she wasn’t willing to sacrifice her duty for, say, her feelings towards her tutor Dimitri. She knows where she fits in and what she has to do. It was refreshing to see a character so dedicated.

The best part was how it goes both ways. Lissa is just as dedicated as Rose. She depends on her and trusts her, but she would also do anything for Rose. It was awesome to see such a strong female relationship.

Of course, one can’t talk Vampire Academy without mentioning the romance. Rose and Dimitri are hot, hot, hot. You all know the scene I’m talking about. Dayum. I don’t know about Dimitri by himself, though. I mean, it’s really sexy how powerful and skilled he is. But…I can’t get over the fact that he has a ponytail. And wears a duster. It just doesn’t compute in my head. So I’m choosing to imagine him without either.

Screen Shot 2013-05-17 at 11.56.59 PM

Vampire Academy is a fun start to the series. I’ll definitely be back for more.

Screen Shot 2013-05-17 at 11.57.09 PM

6 – good but doesn’t have that wow factor – Mrs. Figg

Figg

5 thoughts on “Book Review: Vampire Academy by Richelle Mead

  1. Haha. It’s easier to read if you imagine him having a normal, short hair cut instead of a pony tail.

    I think the forbidden fruit factor also plays a large part in what makes this romance so steamy.

Leave a Reply

