Series Review: Vampire Academy by Richelle Mead

                            

                         

If your read my review of Vampire Academy, you know I surprisingly enjoyed it. I binge-read the entire series this past week, and because of that, I’m reviewing a bit unconventionally this time. I decided to do a series review rather than review each book because they all kind of blurred together into one gigantic book.

The best part of the series for me was the characters. I loved Rose. Snarky and always up for a fight, Rose charges ahead and goes after what she wants. She’s protective and fierce and loyal. She’s a class-A badass, but I loved how she could be vulnerable too. She’s old for her age (and who wouldn’t be when you have to kill psycho vampires?), but I liked how she still acted like an eighteen-year-old sometimes. She’s not perfect and makes mistakes.

I loved the arcs for the secondary characters like Christian, Adrian, Eddie, and Mia too. You start off thinking a person is one thing, but over the course of the series, every character develops surprising depths. I loved Adrian the most, though. I know, I should be talking about Dimitri but if you’ve read my blog before, you know I never go after the obvious choice. Don’t get me wrong, Dimitri is pretty hot. I think he didn’t do it for me as much as he seems to for everyone else because he’s just too good. He’s referred to as a god a lot, and it’s true. He’s the best in the game. Adrian, on the other hand, is fighting a lot of demons. He doesn’t know who he is yet. You see glimpses of it when he shows how loyal he is to his friends and how kind he can be. But he still has a long way to go, and that’s why he’s more interesting as a character to me. And it doesn’t hurt that he’s gorgeous.

The other strongest aspect of the series was the friendship between Lissa and Rose. They just trust and love each other so much. I liked seeing how they dealt with the external factors that influenced their relationship, like secrets and love interests and politics. They have a lot going against them, but they stick by each other no matter what.

Screen Shot 2013-05-17 at 11.56.59 PM

 

This series is incredibly addicting and has everything you want in your YA: romance, action, friendship, and life-or-death situations. Don’t let the vampires get you down; I high recommend you give the series a try.

6 thoughts on “Series Review: Vampire Academy by Richelle Mead

  1. I recently read this series too. I think you liked it a bit more than I did, though. But I do agree with you about Adrian. He became my favorite character in the series. Did you know there’s a spinoff series? I haven’t read it yet but I’m told it answers all the open ending plot points of the last book.

  2. YES!! *air humps for book club* I am soooo happy you gave the books a chance—– especially after the numerous amount of times I have begged you, encouraged you, basically harassed you about reading them. 😉 Even happier that you LOVED them!! Hell yeah VA!!!

Leave a Reply

