Top Ten Tuesday: Top Ten Books I Would Love To See As Movies/TV Shows

Top Ten Tuesday is a weekly meme hosted by The Broke and the Bookish where each week we get a new topic for a top ten list. Movie adaptations are hit-or-miss for me. Most of the time, I just get pissed off about the differences from the books (don’t get me started on Percy Jackson or we’ll be here all night). Even knowing that, I still get excited when I hear books I loved are getting the movie or tv treatment. I divided my choices this week into books I would love to see as movies, books I want adapted as tv shows, and movie adaptations in development that I’m excited for.

Screen Shot 2013-07-23 at 7.09.44 PM

Screen Shot 2013-09-09 at 10.18.08 PM


1. Sabriel, Garth Nix. Ever since I first read Sabriel, I’ve been dying for a movie. There would be so much action with Sabriel kicking ass and fighting the dead.

2. The Girl Who Circumnavigated Fairyland in a Ship of Her Own Making, Catherynne M. Valente. I can imagine this one as an adorable animated movie.

3. Under the Never Sky, Veronica Rossi. I just want to be able to appreciate Perry’s berries in all their big-screen glory.

4. Anna and the French Kiss, Stephanie Perkins. This would be the ultimate romantic comedy.

5. The Hundred Thousand Kingdoms, N.K. Jemisin. This series is epic and would make some epic movies. Plus, the characters are incredibly diverse, something that’s severely missing from today’s Hollywood.

Screen Shot 2013-09-09 at 10.27.29 PM

6. Song of the Lioness/Other Tortall series, Tamora Pierce. All I want in life is for Pierce’s Tortall universe to be a tv show.

7. Throne of Glass, Sarah J. Maas. Considering this is a seven book series, a tv show would give more time to develop all the characters and plot. Plus, I love Celaena, Chaol, and Dorian too much to just see them in a movie.

Screen Shot 2013-09-09 at 10.30.10 PM

8. Shadow and Bone, Leigh Bardugo. I can’t wait to see the Darkling on screen!

9. The 5th Wave, Rick Yancey. This book has so much action. It’s going to make a really exciting movie.

10. Daughter of Smoke and Bone, Laini Taylor. This one is going to be so visually stunning.

18 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday: Top Ten Books I Would Love To See As Movies/TV Shows

  1. YAY for The Hundred Thousand Kingdoms! This is the first cross over I have had with anyone’s TTT post this week (actually, that seems to be a recurring thing, now that I come to think of it). The characters really ARE incredibly diverse, and the world is beyond fantastic. I want this movie. But I must say, if Nahadoth and Sieh weren’t cast correctly, I would be heartbroken. I don’t really mind about any of the other characters, but these two were painted so clearly in my head that if they didn’t match it, the movie would be a bust in my eyes 😦
    My Top Ten post 🙂

  2. Oh my gosh, yes! Anna and the French Kiss would be the perfect Rom Com! I can’t believe I didn’t think of that for my TTT. Now I really want the movie people to make it!

  3. I would love to see a Throne of Glass tv series. And The Girl Who Circumnavigated Fairyland in a Ship of Her Own Making would be really good as an animated film. I really want to see that now . 🙂

  4. I put Sabriel and Daughter of Smoke & Bone on my list! I agree about Anna and the French Kiss, Throne of Glass, and The 5th Wave. I’m always cautious about book movies so the in development ones worry me, but I try to be optimistic!

  5. Daughter of Smoke and Bone is going to be a movie?! I’m super excited for that. Anna and the French Kiss is on my list as well. I think it would make a great rom-com. Oh, and I completely agree, Alanna would make a great tv show.

    Alex @ The Book Banner
    My TTT

Leave a Reply

