Top Ten Tuesday: Top Ten Best Sequels Ever

Top Ten Tuesday is a weekly meme hosted by The Broke and the Bookish where each week we get a new topic for a top ten list. Sequels are tricky. You need to keep the interest of fans of the first book while still being original and inventive. They can be the best thing ever or the biggest disappointment ever. Here are ten sequels that surpassed the first novel in awesomeness.

Screen Shot 2013-07-23 at 7.09.44 PM

Screen Shot 2013-09-23 at 5.02.32 PM

1. Crown of Midnight, Sarah J. Maas. Holy hell, do I love this book. I thought Throne of Glass couldn’t be topped, but CoM just made me love every single character even more.

Screen Shot 2013-09-23 at 5.03.03 PM

2. Siege and Storm, Leigh Bardugo. Though it made me sad that the Darkling went full-on baddie in this one (I still have faith in the his redemption!), I loved the addition of Sturmhond to the crew.

Screen Shot 2013-09-23 at 5.03.24 PM

3. Through the Ever Night, Veronica Rossi. I wasn’t wowed by Under the Never Sky, but Through the Ever NIght blew me away. I couldn’t put it down and it thoroughly cemented my love for Roar.

Screen Shot 2013-09-23 at 5.05.14 PM

4. The Girl Who Fell Beneath Fairyland and Led the Revels There, Catherynne M. Valente. It seemed an impossible task to recapture the magic of the first one, but Valente succeeded and handled September’s growing up perfectly.

Screen Shot 2013-09-23 at 5.05.45 PM5. The Crown of Embers, Rae Carson. Two words: SEWER KISS.

Screen Shot 2013-09-23 at 5.06.03 PM6. The Son of Neptune, Rick Riordan. I didn’t realize how much I missed Percy until I found out he would be one of the narrators in The Son of Neptune. 

Screen Shot 2013-09-23 at 5.06.30 PM7. The Queen of Attolia, Megan Whalen Turner. Gen is back and he’s more manipulative than ever and it’s awesome. This book is also the start of one of the most complex relationships I’ve ever read.

Screen Shot 2013-09-23 at 5.06.50 PM 8. Catching Fire, Suzanne Collins. Catching Fire gets a lot of hate, but I’ve always loved it. The arena is my favorite and Finnick is one of the best characters in the series.

Screen Shot 2013-09-23 at 5.07.08 PM

9. Lirael, Garth Nix. While I love Sabriel, I relate so much more to Lirael.

Screen Shot 2013-09-23 at 5.08.40 PM

10. The Ask and the Answer, Patrick Ness. If you thought the Mayor was bad in book one, he’s even worse in the second book.

15 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday: Top Ten Best Sequels Ever

  1. We have a lot of overlapping books 🙂 I didn’t think of The Queen of Attolia though. Those books were crazy! And you’re right I’m pretty sure the series wins for most complicated relationship ever haha. I just found out there was a fourth book, so I really need to read it!

  2. I seriously need to read the Heroes of Olympus series! I did read The Lost Hero when it was first released, but never followed throug. I’m hearing how fantastic the series is, though. And I do love me some Percy!

  3. I too, have 6,7,and 8 on my list. And this reminds me to read Lirael soon because I agree, Sabriel was great. The Chaos Walking series too, is amazing. And yes, Mayor Prentiss got under my skin. 😀

Leave a Reply

