Top Ten Tuesday: Top Ten Book Turn-Offs

Top Ten Tuesday is a weekly meme hosted by The Broke and the Bookish where each week we get a new topic for a top ten list. This list is going to be random because we’ve already done a similar one earlier this year with Top Ten Words/Topics That Make Me Not Pick Up a Book and I don’t want to list the same things, so I’m running out of options! Anyways, here are ten of my book turn-offs.

Screen Shot 2013-07-23 at 7.09.44 PM

 

1. Love triangles. It’s never struck me as particularly realistic that all of a sudden two totally and completely hot guys would fall madly in love with the same girl. I’m over this being used as a source of tension or as a plot point.

2. Use of the words “lover” or “moist.” Oh man, the word “lovers” bums me out. Same with “moist.” Ugh, I’m shuddering just typing it.

3. Cheating. I just don’t understand it. It’s not something I would ever do nor would ever be able to forgive, so I don’t really like reading about it.

4. Ugly covers. I know, don’t judge a book by it’s cover, blah blah blah. But seriously…so many people work on book covers and no one spoke up and said maybe we shouldn’t make this so goddamn ugly? It makes me doubt the quality of the book inside, too, even though some of my favorite books of all time had terrible covers.

5. Describing a guy’s smell as “clean” or “soapy.” Seriously, this is one of the most overused phrases in YA. I get it, guys shower and that’s appealing.

6. When a couple lies to each other to “protect” each other. TELL THE FREAKING TRUTH AND SAVE ME HAVING TO READ THROUGH ALL YOUR STUPID ANGST.

7. Eating fish. I hate the smell of fish so much it makes me gag just thinking about it. Reading about eating fish makes me remember how much I hate the smell.

8. Lame nicknames. Whenever someone calls their love interest something like “my heart” or “siren,” it doesn’t sound romantic to me at all. It makes me laugh.

9. In-depth descriptions of clothes’ brands. I don’t need to know that shirt came from Hollister.

10. When the best friend is a bitch/asshole. Why is the main character even friends with them?!

28 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday: Top Ten Book Turn-Offs

  1. I also hate ugly covers, along with generic covers that look exactly like 50 I’ve already seen. Can we please have a move back towards actual cover art and originality, not the same 5 styles over and over again?

  2. OMG. Moist. ::shudder:: I hate that word. #5 made me laugh out loud. Ugly covers annoy me, but books with the same covers as other books annoys me even more. I swear I’ve seen the couple from Tammara Webber’s Easy EVERYWHERE. And they’re just one example.

    Great list!

    My TTT.

  3. “TELL THE FREAKING TRUTH AND SAVE ME HAVING TO READ THROUGH ALL YOUR STUPID ANGST.” Lol!! LOVE your list! Although the eating fish thing doesn’t bother me. All the rest: Golden.

  4. SIREN HAHAHA. Seriously. That kind of really ruins things for me! I honestly could not take that seriously at all.
    I also hate bitchy best friends! It makes me thing less of the MC. Why put up with that?
    And cheating is a total NO for me.

  5. I find it hilarious that you hate eating fish so much you can’t read about it. I have never known a food aversion so strong. I’m with you on love triangles and all your romance novel-related dislikes. Here’s Ours

  6. lol @ eating fish. love it. lame nicknames is a good one. that definitely annoys the crap out of me…like just because you have some love interest refer to your main character by a ridiculous nickname, does not mean they are soul mates or that the main character is anymore interesting than if she had a normal effing name. great list!

  7. Ha ha ha ha! You are funny! This list made me laugh. I agree with the cover thing though. If I don’t know anything about the book, and the cover is ugly/boring, I probably won’t pick it up. Publishers know that the cover is advertising!

  8. I love your list! I also had Cheating and Love Triangles on mine. I particularly like the “describing guy’s smell as ‘clean.'” I see that a lot and never quite understood why such a smell is worth pointing out.

  9. Haha I find it so funny how people get irritated by the word “moist.” I worked with a girl this summer who gagged every time we teased her with the word.
    But I do love your list. I can relate to almost all of it!

  10. Oh my gosh, yes to the whole lying to protect each other. Ugh! So annoying. And cheating and love triangles are on my list, too. You know, I’ve heard so many people tell me that they hate the m. word. It’s never bothered me, but I hear it’s irksome to lots of people. Lover is a silly word, I agree. I just can’t take it seriously. I mean, who uses that word these days?

  11. Oh my gosh, I totally agree with number six. I HATE it when the main couple doesn’t talk to each other for stupid reasons. Have some trust in your partner and stop treating them like they’re made of glass! I’m also pretty sick of the best friend being a jerk. Loved your list!

  12. 4. – Sometimes I think a book cover is ugly…then I checkout other book blogs and they love the cover. I guess different stuff appeal to different people. Plus with YA books…I am not the target market…so it’s no surprise I don’t like a lot of their covers.

  13. Cheating is on my list too. I freaking HATE IT! The nicknames make me laugh too and get downright annoying sometimes. Love triangles is on my list too, they are the worst! So played out and usually just a red flag for poor writing and lack of ideas. Just ugh, no! Have you ever seen the t.v. show “Dead Like Me”? Your aversion to the word ‘moist’ reminds me of the Mom on that show – she HATES that word. LOL

    My TTT:

    http://diamondinroughcoal.blogspot.com/2013/10/top-ten-tuesday-11-top-ten-book-turn.html

Leave a Reply

